•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Remote Family EAA in Northern Minnesota

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Randy.prudhomme

Randy.prudhomme

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Crookston, Minnesota

Posted 04 December 2019 - 11:58 AM

OK since I am new to using electronics in astronomy I thought my original question was an AP one but those wonderful people told me it is an EAA one so here I am. After looking through this forum for few hours last night i have decided to re frame my question.

My family likes to see what I find using the telescope but are getting frustrated with me tinkering with it for a while to find objects and center them in the eyepiece for them. I am looking into to using my Celestron C6 SCT to remotely control it to look at the night sky or sun using a tablet or laptop while projecting the images either on my TV or a projector on a screen for my family to enjoy with me at either real time or near real time.  

Like I said I currently have a C6 SCT that I want to keep that sits on a cheaper video camera tripod that is very touchy that works for me but not my family.  With that I am looking for some suggestions on upgrading everything except the telescope including a new laptop/tablet that can run outside in the cold while I sit inside with my family.  I usually don't use the telescope in the winter with only doing naked eye or small sessions of binocular astronomy so I will also need some help with heating.  My current budget is between $2k and $3k and this is what I have come up with so far.  I would also like to keep in mind the upgrading of the OTA possibly up to a 9.25" SCT or a 10" Newtonian in the future.

Telescope

Celestron C6 SCT

Mount

Celestron Advanced VX Equatorial Mount

Camera

ZWO ASI385 

Focuser

Celestron Focus Motor for SCT and EdgeHD

Focal Reducer/Corrector