•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Autoguiding without separate guide scope and camera?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 ajaxuk

ajaxuk

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Cyprus

Posted 06 December 2019 - 03:04 AM

I'm a complete beginner with about a week of practice under my belt, so please bear that in mind.

The subject of autoguiding appears quite frequently and I think I now understood why it is useful. However, I am trying to figure out why it is not possible to use the same camera and lens used to take the "lights" instead of separate scope and camera. In my case I use a DSLR and a telephoto lens up to 300mm with an Ioptron SkyGuider that supports guiding on the RA axis only.

With appropriate software, couldn't the actual subs be used to provide a correction that would feed back into the mount?

#2 Stelios

Stelios

Cosmos

• Moderators
  • Loc: West Hills, CA

Posted 06 December 2019 - 03:25 AM

No. To be effective, guiding must be done at short intervals (typically 1"-5"). Your main camera is busy taking images at that time, and the exposure intervals will typically be of the order of minutes, not seconds.

Also, even if you were taking very short exposures with the main camera (a bad idea for many reasons, especially with a DSLR), the exposure would have to be complete in order for the software to analyze and act on it--so guiding would serve no purpose at all. Any deviation would have already happened and be on film. You might prevent a slight drift of the mount, but that is not an issue as stacking software (combining the sub-exposures into one long exposure) works by matching the stars and therefore all that the drift can affect is the edges.