•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

First small step with Andromeda with a Star Adventurer and Canon at 200mm

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 kevinbreen

kevinbreen

Vanguard

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Wexford, Ireland

Posted 06 December 2019 - 01:09 PM

Howdy 

I've been planeting and mooning for nearly 3 years here in the south east of Ireland with enough success that I'm really looking forward to Mars' return later next year. In the meantime I've been spending a considerable amount of time on this forum and Youtube intrigued by DSO imaging. I'm absolutely gobsmacked at the incredible quality of the images here. In particular I'm very excited about what is possible with just a star tracker and a humble DSLR (mine's an unmodded Canon 600D, or t3i as it's also known). I got delivery of a Skywatcher Star Adventurer earlier this week and managed to polar align the thing two nights ago. Yay! Then I kicked the tripod accidentally..... not so Yay! but then I nudged it again accidentally, Yay! Two wrongs must have made a right because I managed to not only locate Andromeda but also get it on the sensor of my camera. I used a wider-fov 50mm f/1.8 nifty fifty to first of all figure out where it was, then I adjusted a camera to put it in the centre of the live view screen, then I switched lenses to my Sigma 70-300mm zoom. The whole exercise was a proof of concept to see if I could get anywhere with this modest rig and while some will no doubt sniff at the image I show here, I'm blown away that I got a pic of Andromeda at all. This is a 191 second exposure at 200mm at f/5.6 ISO 800. I kept pushing and pushing the focal length to see when star trailing became a major issue. Clearly 191 seconds is overly optimistic and a shorter exposure would have been better at a higher ISO. Clearly my focus could have been better