•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Eyepiece True field Of View

• Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 ras

ras

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 07 December 2019 - 11:55 AM

As my question indicates I am a beginner.  If the formula for True Field Of View is eyepiece field stop diameter/telescope focal lengthX57.3, am I correct that the maximum TFOV for a telescope with a 1280" focal length is approximately 1.25 degrees for a 1.25" eyepiece and 2.10 degrees for a 2" eyepiece?

• Jon Isaacs likes this

#2 vtornado

vtornado

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Northern Illinois

Posted 07 December 2019 - 12:16 PM

Your numbers are about correct.  Remember that the barrel of the eyepiece might be 1 to 2 mm thick.

Wide field eyepieces generally use the barrel as field stop.

Why 1280? If you are considering getting a 100mm MCT (which has a 1300mm fl), it may not be able to accept 2 inch eyepieces.

#3 StarBurger

StarBurger

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: North Country NY

Posted 07 December 2019 - 12:20 PM

Well no. 1.25 " and 2 " eyepieces are only the size of the barrel so do not refer to the field stop dimension which of course has to be smaller.

Field stops in 1.25" can vary from the largest that is physically possible to the small.

Otherwise formula looks correct.

#4 Shorty Barlow

Shorty Barlow

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Lloegyr

I just divide the magnification of the eyepiece by the AFOV. It probably isn't the most accurate way to calculate TFOV, but it suffices for my needs.

Example:

24mm Tele Vue Panoptic ~ 68° AFOV.

Magnification of Panoptic in 72mm Evostar ~ 17.5x.

68/17.5 = 3.885

3 arc degrees : 53 minutes : 6 seconds TFOV.

• Asbytec likes this

#5 SloMoe

SloMoe

Gemini

• Loc: Washington State

I use an online calculator for eyepiece tfov 

http://www.csgnetwork.com/telefov.html