•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Can't load mono AVI files into Registax 5

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 grandad

grandad

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Just East of Sarasota Fl.

Posted 09 December 2019 - 08:19 PM

I'm new at this and every day is a challenge.  I imaged the Sun today and when I tried to load the files into Registax I get a notice --- "Image seems to be in color, process in color, yes or no"

When I pick no nothing happens, if I pick yes nothing happens.  The other day I used the program and it worked ok.  Help please.

Thanks,Tim

#2 rigel123

rigel123

Hubble

• Loc: SW Ohio

Posted 09 December 2019 - 08:45 PM

It may be in your settings, but first I would suggest you go ahead and download the latest version of Registax here: https://www.astronomie.be/registax/ In settings you can decide if it will autodetect RGB AVI's. I would also encourage you to download Autostakkert 3 here: https://www.autostak...om/wp/download/ It is a bit more flexible for alignment and stacking of your AVI's. I would continue to use Registax for Wavelets on the TIF images that you get from Autostakkert though. Hope this helps Tim!
  • PhotonJohn likes this

#3 grandad

grandad

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 10 December 2019 - 09:12 AM

Thank you.  I'll give it a try.  In the autodetect setting which setting should I chose.

#4 happylimpet

happylimpet

Aurora

• Loc: Southampton, UK

Posted 10 December 2019 - 09:21 AM

AutoStakkert is hugely simpler, faster, and produces substantially better results.

As above, use registax 6 for wavelets on the final stack (just drop the file onto the registax window), but use autostakkert for stacking. You will be glad you did.

#5 hopskipson

hopskipson

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Queens, New Yawk, Light pollution Headquarters!