•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

My NexDome + "roll-off" dual roof solar powered observatory

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 AlexTardif

AlexTardif

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Sacramento, CA

Posted 09 December 2019 - 10:59 PM

Hi all, I've spent the past 9 months (a year if I count the few months of planning prior) working little by little towards building my backyard observatory.  I just finished it a couple of weeks ago, and will start moving in and assembling all of the equipment shortly, hopefully over the holidays.  I have no experience with construction, so the project turned into a hobby of its own for a while as I've learned the trade a bit and picked up a few building skills along the way.

I took my time and documented the progress with a bunch of pictures.  I've also started my own website, which I'll dedicate to some of my hobbies, amateur astrophotography being one of them.  If you are thinking about building an observatory too, reviewing my project might be of help.  Either way, feel free to ask questions if any come up.

Here's the direct link to my construction journalhttps://alexandertar...com/observatory

DSC00383.jpg

Also, much of my inspiration and many ideas came from this very forum, so thanks ya'll!

• drprovi57, Tom K, aaube and 5 others like this

#2 Dick Jacobson

Dick Jacobson

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

Posted 10 December 2019 - 08:25 AM

Nicely done, but why so short? A while ago in this forum someone mentioned that he was considering building a "roll-off dome", i.e. a dome mounted on rollers so it could roll away revealing the entire sky. Has anyone done this?

#3 AlexTardif

AlexTardif

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Sacramento, CA

Posted 10 December 2019 - 12:15 PM