•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

A7ll vs A6400

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 stubeeef

stubeeef

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: NW NC

Posted 10 December 2019 - 04:49 PM

I'm a pilot and travel a lot.

I like taking lots of sunrise and sunset photos, and landscapes. I like the stars to show during both.

WANT a camera with great low light ability BUT HAS TO BE easy to pack (small is good). Also budget under $1000.

AND I want to dabble into some AP on occasion, not foreseeing it to become an obsession (I HOPE).

SO, the A7II (not A7r or A7s just plain A7 II) has a full size sensor with the same megapixels, to my guess that means larger pixels that take in more light-even though ISO has a lower high rating. But takes up more room in a crowded bag.

BUT, the A6400 is much smaller, has higher ISO settings, but a smaller APS-C chip.

What to do? Both are basically $900.

Edited by stubeeef, 10 December 2019 - 05:26 PM.

#2 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 10 December 2019 - 05:12 PM

Before you zero in on Sony, make sure it will work with AP software for capture, such as SGP, APT, NINA, ...  You will want to use some type of capture SW, as it makes the process MUCH better, as they will plate solve to zero in on your target, and automate the image capture (# of shots, gain/ISO, dither).  Typically Canon has the best software support, with Nikon also having good, but lesser, support.  I expect support for Sony cameras will be very limited.