•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

USB powered hand warmers as dew heater strips?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Analemma

Analemma

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Central Florida

Posted 14 December 2019 - 11:47 AM

Hi, Im new to the hobby and looking to save some $$ if possible. I found these USB powered hand warmers online:
https://m.aliexpress...c2-78d3c041b47b

I just bought a nexstar 8SE which hasn't arrived yet. But, I live in central florida and suspect dew will be a challenge for me.

These hand warmers are 5 v and a little less than 5" long each. There are 2 pads to each usb plug so my questions are:

1) the circumference of my corrector plate is about 25". Would just 1 of these warmers be ok with 2 pads that are 5" long each. So only about 10" of the total circumference would be warmed?

2) also, these warmers have no regulation. Will that be a problem? Will it be too much heat? Or too little?

3)any other recommendations? Alternatives? I cant really spend hundreds on a dew system right now, but I want to be able to use the scope.

Thanks for your help,
Anais

#2 RyanSem

RyanSem

Apollo

• Loc: Lancaster, PA

Posted 14 December 2019 - 11:57 AM

I'd imagine it would be very hard to control how much heat is actually being applied, and if that heat is being dispersed evenly.

Reviews aren't too great on aliexpress. But for the price it might not hurt to try, I suppose. 

• Analemma likes this

#3 Eddgie

Eddgie

ISS

Posted 14 December 2019 - 12:22 PM

I doubt that these will be sufficient for three reasons.

First, I doubt that these produce enough heat.  When your hand is in a glove, it takes very little added heat to keep your hands comfortable.   The SCT corrector though is insulated.

Second, the current capability of the standard USB port is probably not high enough.