•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

EP Management

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Fredo456

Fredo456

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: New Richmond, QC, CA

Posted 15 December 2019 - 05:20 PM

So I've been observing the skies for a couple of months now, and I think I finally have my setup down pat, equipment wise. I'm having a lot of fun discovering this hobby (when I can actually go outside).

I have a twofold question for you folks about EP management.

1- Do you always put the caps back on the EPs as you "zoom" from shorter to shorter EP? (i.e. take out the 25mm from the scope, re-cap it, de-cap the 17mm, put it in the scope, focus. Take out the 17mm, re-cap, de-cap the 13mm, put it in the scope, focus, and so on). Or do you de-cap everything, or at least your most used EPs, and keep them so for the observing session?

2- Do you do this whole progression every time, from 25mm to 17mm, to 13mm, to 8mm, to 6mm, then barlow the 8mm, then barlow the 6mm,  or do you skip some steps?

As always, your wisdom is greatly appreciated.

#2 epee

epee

Soyuz

• Loc: Suh-van-nuh, Jaw-juh

Posted 15 December 2019 - 05:36 PM

In my mind that depends on the environment I'm in. If I'm at home, on a concrete driveway with my "astronomy cabinet" a few steps away in the garage, I don't recap; I either use the eyepiece rack on the scope or replace the eyepiece in the camera bag I keep them in. If at an outreach with lots of feet raising dust, I recap each eyepiece and replace it in the bag as I go to another selection.
  • Jon Isaacs and SeaBee1 like this

#3 DLuders

DLuders

Gemini

• Loc: Spokane, WA

Posted 15 December 2019 - 05:37 PM