•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Brief BST Starguider 8 & 12mm 1.25" review.

accessories
  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Rocklobster

Rocklobster

Viking 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Biggin Hill, Greater London, Bortle 6

Posted 30 December 2019 - 10:44 PM

Before reading this, I should say that I'm pretty new to this hobby and have no experience with any eyepieces other than those I mention below.

My lovely wife gave me a 8mm and 12mm BST Starguiders for Xmas and although I have only had a chance to use them for a few hours since I got them, my impression so far is very positive. 

Pre BST, my only EPs were the 25mm that came with my XT8, a £10 10mm from Amazon and a baader classic ortho 10mm.

To  be honest, I did not get on with the BCO at all. Yes it was sharp enough, but I never liked the narrow FOV and always felt it didn't barlow well.

Just peering throught the 12mm BST for the first time was a great experience. I know it's only a 60deg view but it felt so much more, is luxurious the right word? Much more immersive than the BCO and plossi are.  

It's possible that the outside edge stars suffered a bit of blur, but I can't be sure. The skies were not that great. 

I can state that M42 looked absolutely wonderful through them, and when paired with my Astronomik UHC filter, the view was better than I had ever experienced so far. 

I then pointed the scope almost straight up and after initially struggling to spot them, had a lovely view of Cassiopeia's double open cluster, the detail increasing rapidly the longer I looked.