•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Crayford focuser drawtube slides right out

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 erin

erin

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: MA

Posted 08 January 2020 - 05:31 PM

Hi all,

I took delivery of a 90mm refractor today (SVbony 90mm f5). It has a 2 speed crayford focuser and this is my first time using a crayford. When I picked the scope out of the case, just tipping it a little made the drawtube slide right out of the focuser (to the internal stop). No amount of tightening the screws on the bottom helps, except for the thumbscrew which really just locks it. 

I am guessing this isn't how it should work? I have heard of these focusers sometimes slipping under heavy loads, but I can't attach a diagonal and eyepiece to it unless that big thumbscrew is almost totally locked. I don't dare point the scope up. Thanks!

Erin

#2 mastersniper

mastersniper

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: San Jose, CA

Posted 08 January 2020 - 05:57 PM

not sure which specific focuser is on that scope but every crayford focuser I have used has a seperate friction screw near the lock screw (may be below flush, my EON's grub screw is quite far below flush to engage at all) that controls the tension on the draw tube.  maybe it made it out to you with that screw missing somehow?   is there an empty threaded hole? just forward or back from the lock screw?  

• j.gardavsky likes this

#3 vtornado

vtornado

Vanguard

• Loc: Northern Illinois

Posted 08 January 2020 - 06:01 PM

Hello Erin, can you post  a pic of the bottom of the focuser?

I think mastersniper is on the right track.

If one of my synta focusers looks like your I will experiment with mine.

• Jon Isaacs likes this

#4 erin

erin

Viking 1

• topic starter

Posted 08 January 2020 - 06:04 PM