•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Solar imaging ocean

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 dhkaiser

dhkaiser

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 13 January 2020 - 08:16 AM

OK, I have decided to dip my toes into the solar imaging ocean. Since I am fairly new to solar observing I may be rushing things however I'm going to give it a go.  I have a Lunt LS60Ha PT and a ZWO ASI178MM.  Although there has been no clear weather since the camera arrived I have been playing with Firecapture and Registax with the camera on a C90 imaging a telephone pole just to acquaint myself with the software.  Anyone willing to suggest camera settings suitable for solar imaging? Gain, exposure and gamma settings? Any other suggestions are welcome, thank you.

Dan

• torsinadoc and BeltofOrion like this

#2 RickV

RickV

Vanguard

• -----
  • Loc: Ottawa, ON, Canada

Posted 13 January 2020 - 09:56 AM

Hi Dan,

I suggest...
a) Get the free software called:
     i) AutoStakkert 3 (AS!3 - use instead of Registrax for stacking)
     ii) PIPP (use for quality selection instead of AS!3)

b) Process
    i) run your videos (I prefer ser files) through PIPP
       My 'seeing' is usually poor to below average so I tell PIPP to select only the best 21 frames (out of 1200 or so) to make new shorter ser files.

ii) I run those shorter high-quality ser files through AS!3 stacking only the best 20 out of the 21 frames.

c) Camera Settings
    i) Exposure - anything at or less that 12ms
    ii) Gain - as low as possible (for low noise) that still gives you a wide histogram that peaks at about 90% intensity
    iii) Gamma
     - low to medium contrast for capturing surface & proms together
     - high contrast for surface only
     - high contrast for proms only

I hope that helps.

Best,
Rick

• BeltofOrion, jmiller1001 and dhkaiser like this