Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

12v usb hub

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 stevety

stevety

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 13 Aug 2018
  • Loc: San Ramon ca

Posted 14 January 2020 - 06:58 PM

can I use a 12v usb hub without hurting zwo cameras , and what would be a really good usb hub 



#2 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,604
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ USA

Posted 14 January 2020 - 07:00 PM

Yes. You can use 12 volt USB hubs. The problem is finding a good one.

#3 SonnyE

SonnyE

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,354
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2015
  • Loc: Cali for ni a

Posted 14 January 2020 - 07:18 PM

I do.

I use a StarTech mounted on my rig.

One power lead for all, and one USB lead to my off-mount computer.



#4 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,604
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ USA

Posted 14 January 2020 - 07:21 PM

Have you come across a 4 port hub?
  • SonnyE likes this

#5 SonnyE

SonnyE

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,354
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2015
  • Loc: Cali for ni a

Posted 14 January 2020 - 07:55 PM

Have you come across a 4 port hub?

https://www.startech...3.0 Powered Hub

 

I struggled with non-powered hubs for a little while. Then a computer friend recommended StarTech hubs.

I could get by with a 4 port, but like the extra ports on the 7 I use.

And I bought short cables to tidy up my extra stuff. (Male USB-A to USB-B)

 

Remember to think ahead, like focusers and powered filter wheels, if you think you might use those someday.


Edited by SonnyE, 14 January 2020 - 07:57 PM.

  • Jim Waters likes this

#6 shortonjr

shortonjr

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2015
  • Loc: south carolina

Posted 14 January 2020 - 09:21 PM

I use this one !

Only one lead from the scope.



#7 scadvice

scadvice

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1,769
  • Joined: 20 Feb 2018
  • Loc: Lodi, California

Posted 14 January 2020 - 09:32 PM

Four port 3.0 3.1 powered. Works very well for me. CoolGear.

 

https://www.coolgear...urge-protection


Edited by scadvice, 14 January 2020 - 10:55 PM.

  • Jim Waters likes this

#8 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,604
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ USA

Posted 14 January 2020 - 09:50 PM

Four port 3.0 3.1 powered. Works very for me. CoolGear.

 

https://www.coolgear...urge-protection

This is what I have been looking for.  Thanks


  • scadvice likes this

#9 dirac

dirac

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: 24 Mar 2013

Posted 09 February 2020 - 12:09 PM

Thanks for the link! I was wondering if I could run different cameras through it. Like could I have a ZWO guide camera and an Atik imaging camera hooked up to this (or any other) USB hub?

Four port 3.0 3.1 powered. Works very well for me. CoolGear.

 

https://www.coolgear...urge-protection

 



#10 Carl N

Carl N

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,617
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2012
  • Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 09 February 2020 - 12:27 PM

All astro people should know about RigRunners and West Mountain Radio.
http://www.westmount...m/rigrunner.php

#11 scadvice

scadvice

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1,769
  • Joined: 20 Feb 2018
  • Loc: Lodi, California

Posted 09 February 2020 - 12:36 PM

I can't answer for sure because I don't have experience with Atik products. The one I have seen was a 460  OSC and only required a 2.0 usb so likely there would be no problems.



#12 SonnyE

SonnyE

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,354
  • Joined: 01 Nov 2015
  • Loc: Cali for ni a

Posted 09 February 2020 - 01:09 PM

Thanks for the link! I was wondering if I could run different cameras through it. Like could I have a ZWO guide camera and an Atik imaging camera hooked up to this (or any other) USB hub?

I do. My Guide Camera, Atik Infinity, Focuser, and Mount, all feed into my USB powered hub.

Not all need power from the hub. But it is there if they do, or the future needs arise.

And since going from Non-powered hubs, to a Powered hub, I don't have any slow downs due to data collisions.

 

I use an Orion Star Shoot AG camera with PHD2, An Atik Infinity OSC as my main camera, My focuser is ASCOM based Arduino run, and my new mount is a Losmandy GM811GHD that as of last night feeds to my mount computer through the hub, and a single USB cable. I use a 7 port hub, but only 4 of those currently. If I ever add a filter wheel, it will also feed through that hub.

Once started, I like to run my mount remotely from my "manhole". That way while collecting images and saving them to my mount computer, and running it all remotely, I can be here bugging people on the Internet or researching. wink.gif

I can be at the mount, or completely remote in my warm house. Because there is a display and full computer at each end.



#13 Noah4x4

Noah4x4

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2,829
  • Joined: 07 Apr 2016
  • Loc: Colchester UK

Posted 09 February 2020 - 04:37 PM

I have had poor experience with both non and powered USB Hubs. I tried multiple reputable manufacturers. However, I think this is because there is a camera threshold beyond which things start to get tricky with USB. As sensors are getting ever larger, higher resolution, I suspect my poor experience may become more common.

 

My 16 megapixel Atik Horizon camera seeks 12v and 2.5 Amps (more than my mount) and has large, high resolution CMOS sensor that churns out a very large volume of data and favours USB3 speeds. Even with powered hubs and/or "active" cables I have struggled with USB3 cables longer than 3 metres. 5 metres is supposed to be the arbitrary USB3 limit, but that is optimistic in my experience. I am sure extending USB over cat 6 cable using powered extenders would be more successful.

 

My solution is to have an Intel NUC at the scope running all software with devices connected by short USB3 cables (longest 1.8M). That is networked to another NUC indoors and remote controlled using Windows 10 Pro Remote Desktop with RemoteFX compression disabled. This inevitably works best over cat6 cable, but wireless is also feasible provided that your wireless network is satisfactory (a challenge in itself). 

 

My fear is that if camera sensor trends continue their upwards spiral, then embracing USB might become ever more difficult. In summary, if USB hubs don't work at first attempt, be cautious before throwing more money at that solution. Powered (cat6 cable) extenders or twin computers might be more successful. 


Edited by Noah4x4, 09 February 2020 - 04:49 PM.


#14 OldManSky

OldManSky

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2,752
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2019
  • Loc: Valley Center, CA USA

Posted 09 February 2020 - 05:32 PM

Noah, just FYI -- the USB3 cable limit (non-active, regular cable) is 2 meters (for USB 3.0/3.1 Gen 1), not 5.

And for USB 3.1 Gen 2, it's 1 meter.

 

https://www.newnex.c...ngth-limits.php



#15 t-ara-fan

t-ara-fan

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 978
  • Joined: 20 Sep 2017
  • Loc: 50° 13' N

Posted 10 February 2020 - 06:51 PM

All astro people should know about RigRunners and West Mountain Radio.
http://www.westmount...m/rigrunner.php

Seems to be overkill vs one of these.  I haven't ever had a USB camera short out and burn up my system. Yet shocked.gif

 

I have a couple of these USB3 hubs, seem to work fine.   USB3 is definitely trickier than USB2.  I run a 5m active USB3 extension to my pier, then a 6' passive USB3 extension cable up through my pier to my USB3 hub.
 




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics