•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

First Image (Horsehead + Flame) - Looking for feedback

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Pedram

Pedram

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Edmonton, Canada

Posted 15 January 2020 - 12:03 AM

Hey everyone!

This is the result of my first imaging session. I'm new to the hobby, and I followed veteran users' advice which was starting with Ha imaging for now. I took this from a white zone on the light pollution map (central Edmonton) with a 71% moon in the sky.  Total exposure was 2 hours (24 * 5min) guided. You can see the larger image here.

I'm still new to PixInsight and all I did in terms of processing was stretching, HDR Multiscale Tranform and ACDNR. Given that this is my first try, I'm very happy with the result. But, I noticed a couple of issues myself. Alnitak looks a bit weird, probably because of my processing. And it seems that my polar alignment was not accurate enough even though I did a drift alignment with PHD2. The stars are not perfectly round.

I'd love to hear your opinion. What could I do better? What can I work on for next time?

This is my equipment by the way:

SW Esprit 100ED

SW EQ6-R

ZWO 1600MM Pro

ZWO EFW

ZWO 36mm filters (LRGB + HOS)

Orion Mini 50 mm Guide Scope

Orion StarShoot AutoGuider

Best,

Pedram

Attached Thumbnails

• HorseHead - PixInsight + Photoshop - Tiny.jpg

• Carol L, zjc26138, nofxrx and 19 others like this

#2 Kevin Ross

Kevin Ross

Apollo

• Loc: Traverse City, MI

Posted 15 January 2020 - 12:11 AM

Looks great! Congrats!

The pattern around Alnitak has nothing to do with your processing. It's the camera. The ASI1600MM Pro is known for it. It's one of that camera's biggest weaknesses. Just do what I do: fix it in Photoshop! :)

• Swordfishy and Pedram like this

#3 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS