•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

RickV's Best Ha Scopes in Order of Best to Worst

solar imaging
  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 RickV

RickV

Vanguard

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Ottawa, ON, Canada

Posted 16 January 2020 - 05:43 AM

This is my ranking for Full Solar Discs ONLY - no mosaics.

I'm no expert so take my free opinion for what it's worth - next to nothing lol.gif.

Further, I have owned two of the three units listed... I judged only by repeatability of posting of high-quality images... here on Cloudy Nights Forum.

#1  Lunt 60mm Front Etalon Tilt Tuned  (Note: Pressure tuned does not make my cut.)

#2 Quark Chromosphere

#3 Lunt LS50, rear etalon, Pressure Tuned

With so many people seeking direction on what scope to buy, perhaps it's time we had good discussion (cat fight) about this - Ha options for full-solar Disc images (no mosaics).

Best,

Rick

• LFORLEESEE likes this

#2 MalVeauX

MalVeauX

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Florida

Posted 16 January 2020 - 07:58 AM

Hrm,

I know what it would be for me in the future (and I've seen the outputs).

Two~three options on the near-top-shelf end ($4k~7k, so an option for mortal people), no particular order. Top tier would likely be the 130~150mm double stacks with perfect uniformity, but unlikely, and crazy costly.

Solarmax 90mm III double stack with 30mm blocking filter, IMX183 sensor based camera (achieves full disc FOV in one shot, sampled well), or 1600MM based camera (for undersampled but much larger FOV).

Lunt 80mm or 100mm double stack with 18mm~34mm blocking filter, IMX183 sensor based camera (full disc FOV) or 1600MM again (depends on blocking filter size).

Cost is the only reason I'm not doing it. So until then, I'll continue doing mosaics... flowerred.gif

Very best,

Edited by MalVeauX, 16 January 2020 - 09:13 AM.

#3 descott12