•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

First time photographing the moon

• Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 tna

tna

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 January 2020 - 10:56 AM

Hey all!

I'm a complete newbie to star gazing, but also to astrophotography (also don't have lot of experience from normal photography either, except snapping photos with cell phone).

I was wondering as the first ones of half moon came out great, showing nicely sharp details of moon's craters etc. When I took shots of the full moon the surface was not so sharp anymore. I figured that maybe the brightness of full moon is doing it and I didn't have the knowledge to adjust the settings accordingly. It is a bit hard to adjust the telescope focus through the camera screen, but I think I got it focused good on it, at least it was good during the half moon photos.

What do you think. Thanks in advance!!

f206b31866604f73e1f389d03b143c2e.jpg

7ed609aff993a1918010b2ed17dd5e51.jpg

Edited by tna, 17 January 2020 - 01:52 PM.

• zjc26138, D_talley, hahied and 12 others like this

#2 petert913

petert913

Skylab

• Loc: Silverton, OR

Posted 17 January 2020 - 11:20 AM

Very Nice !!

#3 DioGo_astro

DioGo_astro

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 17 January 2020 - 11:29 AM

Those are very nice pics! As you noticed, taking photos of the full Moon is not a good idea if you want detail and contrast. The lunar terminator (the area between darkness and illumination) is the region where the shadows create that feeling of elevation and texture. With the full Moon, you don't have shadows anywhere.

• Stephen Kennedy, drd715 and Joe1950 like this

#4 Ring_Singularity

Ring_Singularity

Viking 1

• ****-

Posted 17 January 2020 - 11:54 AM