•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Clueless in SharpCap

astrophotography beginner CMOS imaging
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 arrowspace90

arrowspace90

Messenger

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: United States

Posted 17 January 2020 - 11:30 AM

Can anyone give hints to this beginner?

I have a Rasa 8 and a ZWO ASI533 camera.

I am trying to practice with SharpCap (because it's suggested for beginners) but even reading the manual, it's over my head.  I don't understand most of the terms used.  I have no photography background, back when I had a dedicated digital camera, I set everything on AUTO.  Should I do that with SharpCap when it hopefully recognizes my camera?  I will go after DSO, not planets.

When I select the "practice" camera and DSO, the Orion Nebula looks overexposed on the screen.

Can anyone familiar with my equipment and SharpCap suggest settings or a tutorial that can get me started?

#2 Biggen

Biggen

Ranger 4

• Loc: PCB, FL

Posted 17 January 2020 - 11:39 AM

Did you install the drivers from ZWO for your camera?  That needs to be step one.

After that, you can fire up Sharpcap and choose the camera (You can select it from a Menu at the top, can't remember exactly which one).  Then you can adjust the Gain and Exposure length to get a picture.  If you are doing this in the day you will need a very low gain and short exposure.  You will probably be out of focus as well so you will need to fiddle with the focus knob on your scope.

There are tons of tutorials on Youtube that deal with just Sharpcap.  May want to spend an hour or so prowling around over there so you can get a good feel for how the UI works.

• elrico likes this

#3 pkrallis

pkrallis

Mariner 2

• Loc: Colorado Springs, CO

Posted 17 January 2020 - 11:43 AM