•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Baader zoom eyepiece hitting knurled screws?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 N6GQ

N6GQ

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Fort Worth, TX

Posted 17 January 2020 - 12:53 PM

Hi all, noob here, apologies if this has been addressed but a search doesn't bring anything that I can find.

I have a Celestron 6SE in stock form. I just bought a Baader Hyperion Mark IV zoom eyepiece to use on it. 

I see that they have pre-installed the "B-ring" on the eyepiece which is supposed to lift the eyepiece up 4mm to clear the little knurled screws that hold the eyepiece in place. In my case however, it doesn't clear those knurled screws - those screws hit the bottom of the eyepiece.

Am I missing something stupid? Probably, but it just seems like its inherently incompatible in its current form. 

I guess my option is to just lift the EP enough to clear the screws to allow me to tighten then and then compensate the distance with the focuser? Or, allow the EP to rest on top the knurled screws? I'm just curious what others do in this situation. Its cloudy here so I haven't gotten a chance to actually try it out and see...

Thanks for any pointers.

• Jon Isaacs likes this

#2 junomike

junomike

Hubble

• Moderators
  • Loc: Ontario

Posted 17 January 2020 - 01:10 PM

I'd raise the EP slightly.  Can you post a pic as the 4mm clearance in this pic (scroll until you see B-Adapter) easily clears the bottom of the EP.

#3 Jon Isaacs

Jon Isaacs

ISS

• Loc: San Diego and Boulevard, CA

Posted 17 January 2020 - 01:25 PM

N6GO:

Hello and :welcome: to Cloudy Nights.

I think you're on top of it. I've have similar situations, I generally do what you've suggested.