•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Sketch of Messier 42

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 DDEV

DDEV

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Dublin, Ireland

Posted 18 January 2020 - 07:06 AM

Dear All,

This report is from last night's 'meet-up' session at the Great Sugar Loaf Mountain, Co Wicklow, Ireland. These meet up sessions take place once a month, and provide us with a great opportunity to observe the night sky from a dark site. For example, the 'Clear Outside' website estimate  the sky quality to be 20.73.

With Orion looking magnificent perched high in the sky, I attempted to sketch M42. This is my first attempt to sketch this DSO, and it was my first time trying to include nebulosity in a sketch. Along with M43, the trapezium was easily observed at 133X. The Great Orion Nebula was clearly visible through the eyepiece, but I found it difficult to see more of the finer 'wispy' elements of it - I'm sure that will come with experience. That being said, there was strong contrast between the 'c'-shaped curve of the nebula and the dark night sky. Using averted vision, I could detect some mottling around the trapezium too. Interestingly, I believe I may have detected some colour in two of the trapezium stars (see sketch) - could this be right though? I spent 20 minutes sketching the object, and approximately 10 minutes at home using GIMP 2.0 to invert, and to crop the image. Further details can be found below:

Object: M42
Date: 17/01/2019
Time: 21:40 UT
Seeing: 6pk
Transparency 4
Instrument used: f/8 150mm Newtonian Reflector
Eyepiece: Orion 9mm Expanse
AFOV: 66 degrees
TFOV: 0.495

Materials used: 2B, 2H graphite pencils, and a blending stump. The image was sketched at the eyepiece and inverted using GIMP 2.0