•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

How to calc max field of view with maximum aperture.

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Neptune

Neptune

Apollo

• topic starter
  • Loc: Georgia

Posted 18 January 2020 - 01:29 PM

Hi guys, I am new to the ATM area and have a question.

What is the formula for determining the maximum field given the below criteria.

Maximum aperture of a telescope = X  

F number of scope = Y

Exit pupil could go 5mm or maybe 6mm.

Eyepiece used 41mm Panoptic (68 afov)

Thanks,
David

#2 bridgman

bridgman

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Mosport, ON, Canada

Posted 18 January 2020 - 01:39 PM

IIRC FOV is just AFOV divided by magnification, or 68 / ((X * Y) / 41), which simplifies to (68 x 41) / (X * Y).

Assumes aperture is in mm as well (to match 41mm) or you need to include conversion constants.

Exit pupil gets calculated separately - aperture divided by magnification, which IIRC ends up simplifying to eyepiece FL over F number or 41 / Y.

Let's check that... aperture / magnification -> X / ((X * Y) / 41) -> 1 / (Y / 41) -> 41 / Y. Yep.

For 5-6mm exit pupil with 41mm EP you want F number in the 7-8 range (41/5 = 8.2, 41/6 = 6.83).

Edited by bridgman, 18 January 2020 - 01:45 PM.

• Neptune likes this

#3 junomike

junomike

Hubble

• Moderators
  • Loc: Ontario

Posted 18 January 2020 - 01:47 PM

Seeing as you already know the desired exit pupil and eyepiece you can calculate the F-Ratio as 41mm/5mm exit pupil  = F8.2  & 41mm/6mm exit pupil  = F6.83

Using F7 yields an exit pupil of 5.86mm.

Now your max FOV will be dependent on the Aperture as a 120mm F7 OTA will yield a larger FOV than a 200mm F7 OTA.

120 F7 =840mm FL

41 pan = 46mm Field Stop

46/840 X 57.3 = 3.14° FOV

200mm F7 = 1400mm FL

41 pan = 46mm Field Stop

46/1400 X 57.3 = 1.88° FOV

• Neptune likes this

#4 Bob4BVM

Bob4BVM