•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Barlow Connection with NexstarSE

astrophotography beginner Celestron
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 cman2187

cman2187

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 January 2020 - 01:09 AM

Hi. Noob here, so be gentle.

I am trying to figure out how to use a Barlow's magnification with a DSLR (Nikon D3200) on a Celestron Nexstar 4SE scope.  I have the t-ring and adapter (Celestron model 93635-A) hooked successfully to the scope and am actually getting decent pictures. What I want to do is hook up a Barlow lens to the camera and get some better magnification/resolution.

Is this possible?  My google-fu is weak in this regard.

Thanks!

#2 james7ca

james7ca

Cosmos

• Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 19 January 2020 - 01:44 AM

It can be hard to find an all-threaded connection when it comes to barlows. The easiest solution would be to use the visual back and place the 1.25" barlow in that and follow that with a 1.25"-to-T-thread adapter and then on to your Nikon with its own T-thread adapter.

So, something like the following:

<Celestron Visual Back> <1.25" barlow> < 1.25"-to-T-thread adapter> < T-thread adapter for the Nikon> <Nikon camera mount>

And these would mate as follows: female(Visual Back slip-fit output) male(1.25" balow slip-fit input) female(1.25" barlow slip-fit output) male (1.25"-to-T-thread adapter slip-fit input) male(1.25"-to-T-thread adapter output threads) female(Nikon T-thread adapter input threads).

Other than the 1.25" barlow the only part you will need is: https://agenaastro.c...-t-adapter.html

[UPDATE]