Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

64 bit downloads.

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 arrowspace90

arrowspace90

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 332
  • Joined: 15 May 2009
  • Loc: United States

Posted 19 January 2020 - 01:24 PM

The laptop I dug up out of a closet to use for AP software is an old Toshiba Satellite that is 6 or 7 years old.

 

So old, I just thought it must be a 32bit when I went to download ASCOM platform and other stuff.

 

But checking the specs, Windows 8, it says it is in fact 64bit.

 

Should I delete my programs and redownload?  How much of a difference does it make?  Will the programs just run slow or work at all?



#2 Cali

Cali

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,319
  • Joined: 21 Aug 2018
  • Loc: Bay Area

Posted 19 January 2020 - 01:49 PM

32-bit software is going away. Might want to go after the 64-bit rev. now. With time, you're gonna end up there anyway.

 

- Cal


Edited by Cali, 19 January 2020 - 01:50 PM.


#3 arrowspace90

arrowspace90

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 332
  • Joined: 15 May 2009
  • Loc: United States

Posted 19 January 2020 - 01:58 PM

32-bit software is going away. Might want to go after the 64-bit rev. now. With time, you're gonna end up there anyway.

 

- Cal

Thanks.  I will delete and re-download.  I will likely succeed in messing up EQMOD, which was a trial to get running.



#4 Cali

Cali

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,319
  • Joined: 21 Aug 2018
  • Loc: Bay Area

Posted 19 January 2020 - 02:02 PM

Thanks.  I will delete and re-download.  I will likely succeed in messing up EQMOD, which was a trial to get running.

Might be a good time to move to Windows 10.

I'd max out the memory too.

 

 

- Cal


Edited by Cali, 19 January 2020 - 02:54 PM.


#5 rgsalinger

rgsalinger

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 5,523
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2007
  • Loc: Carlsbad Ca

Posted 19 January 2020 - 02:26 PM

No need to do anything to the laptop. ASCOM  will work fine on the computer, just make sure that you have all of the necessary C++ run time libraries. The download will tell you what's going on. I wouldn't bother to pay any money to upgrade that box unless there is some other reason to do so. Pretty much any laptop makes a fine imaging system. 

Rgrds-Ross



#6 MikiSJ

MikiSJ

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 311
  • Joined: 20 Nov 2018
  • Loc: San Jose

Posted 19 January 2020 - 03:33 PM

If your laptop is only as old as you say it is - then is very likely a x64bit machine. 

 

Windows 8/10 has the capability to run 32 bit programs and there is a utility that allows you to run in 'Compatibility Mode'. 


  • arrowspace90 likes this

#7 arrowspace90

arrowspace90

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 332
  • Joined: 15 May 2009
  • Loc: United States

Posted 20 January 2020 - 02:00 PM

Hopefully, I'm ok.  The ASCOM platform was 64 bit.  For NINA, I downloaded 64 bit.  SharpCap is 32.  ASTEP plate solver is 64.




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics