•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Need advice for Binoculars for viewing the milky way

binoculars beginner equipment
  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 Huan

Huan

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: New York

Posted 23 January 2020 - 12:36 PM

Hello everyone, I’m new here!

I would like to buy an astronomy binocular for viewing the milky way. Budget is from $2000 - $4000 including tripod and accessories.

I have a 10x42 Canon IS but it’s heavy for me. Most of the time I can’t hold it long enough to satisfy my eagerness to the night sky. I was thinking of a tripod or unipod but then feel it defeats the purpose of IS.

Everything else of it is perfect for me. I like its 6.5° TFOV because I'm not experienced, and it’s very easy for me to get lost if the TFOV is too small. Plus I’m nearsighted and I seriously don’t like wearing glasses while stargazing. Therefore switching between naked eyes and binocular can be a huge challenge while all I can see are magnitude 1+ stars.

I saw Nikon Action 7x35 EX boasts a 9.3° TFOV and bought one, but the image quality is not satisfying.

I also have a Vixen 2.1x42 which is quite useful, except I’m running out of the focus without my glasses.

I’m currently considering the following options:

APM 16 x 70 Magnesium Series ED APO Binoculars
https://www.amazon.c...s/dp/B072NZ58SK
$615.00
Lightweight at 2124g (4.6lbs)
I remember I saw it somewhere says 4.1 TFOV

APM 70 MM 90° ED-APO BINOCULAR WITH 1.25" EYEPIECE HOLDER
https://skygazeoptic...eyepiece-holder
$1,600.00
products weight: 3,50 kg
Objective angle of view: max. 4° FOV

ZEISS 8x42 Victory SF
https://www.bhphotov...ctory_sf_t.html
$2,699.99
Weight  27.5 oz / 779.6 g
Angle of View   8° (Actual)

ZEISS 7x42 Victory FL
http://www.scopecity...?ProductID=4694 (not sure if this website is legitimate)
$1,899.99
Weight 26 oz.