•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

installing my new focuser

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Ballyhoo

Ballyhoo

Fly Me to the Moon

• topic starter
  • Loc: San Diego

Posted 25 January 2020 - 03:30 AM

Thank you Leon, for a great product, and great service! I am surprised how easy it was to install. However since I have no experience with these, there are still need to test it to make sure I installed it 100% correct. For example I am not sure if I did it right and whether the gears mesh and be flush 100%. (from the angle of the picture they look not in mesh but they are much more in mesh than that appearance. ) The reason why I am not sure about that is because there is a single bracket on the DC motor so the motor assembly, and this is only according to my limited understanding, is not totally locked into place. Well it does go into place using red thumbscrews but I am not 100% sure yet on the connections. It appears to me to be a terrific design and I am thankful that this vendor has been available to help me every step (except at 12:30 AM in the morning when I too should be sleeping, instead I just had to finish installing it.)

The skies should be clear tomorrow night for my first experience with auto focus mono imaging.  

Lord knows I need it because tonight my reds were in the 3's and when I switched to greens my focus went up to 12!

Attached Thumbnails

• focus wheel.2.jpg
  • focus wheelss.gif

Edited by Ballyhoo, 25 January 2020 - 03:32 AM.

#2 mistateo

mistateo

Apollo

• Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 25 January 2020 - 03:59 AM

You should be able to loosen the grub screw that holds the gear on the focuser and slide it out to mesh up better yes?

#3 Ballyhoo

Ballyhoo

Fly Me to the Moon

• topic starter

Posted 25 January 2020 - 01:05 PM