•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Can’t get my NexStar to align, what am I doing wrong?

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 PROTODOPE

PROTODOPE

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 25 January 2020 - 11:49 PM

I’m new to this and I cannot get my 5se to skyalign. I’m putting in lat/Lon, time/date, yada yada. Then I pick three bright stars and it fails every time. Do I need to pick specific stat? Anyone know what newbie mistake I might be making?

#2 NYJohn S

NYJohn S

Vanguard

• Loc: Northport, NY

Posted 26 January 2020 - 12:01 AM

Try auto 2 star align or 2 star align. It seems to be more reliable.
  • Greyhaven, Augustus and PNW like this

#3 PROTODOPE

PROTODOPE

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 26 January 2020 - 12:04 AM

I don’t know what any of the Stars are which is why I was hoping the sky align would help me out

#4 mikenoname

mikenoname

Viking 1

• Loc: Death Valley Region (Bortle 2 - SQM 21.9+)

Posted 26 January 2020 - 12:19 AM

If you posted this in the Celestron subforum you might get better help:

https://www.cloudyni...estron-nexstar/

#5 GoFish

GoFish

Vanguard

• Loc: Kentucky

Posted 26 January 2020 - 12:35 AM

You can use the North Star (Polaris) as your first alignment star, any night of the year (assuming you are a northern hemisphere observer). 

Then you only need to learn 1 or 2 more stars per season.

Currently, one of the bright stars in Orion would make a good 2nd star. Betelgeuse and Rigel are both easy to learn.  Also, Aldebaran in Taurus is easy to spot. 

Hang in there. After a short while aligning your SE mount will become second nature. If it makes you feel any better, I’m pretty good at this and have never gotten the 3-star auto thing to work. 

Edited by GoFish, 26 January 2020 - 12:38 AM.

• Jon Isaacs likes this

#6 PNW

PNW

Mariner 2

• -----