•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Newby eyepiece questions

eyepieces
  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 FredOz

FredOz

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Prescott, AZ

Posted 26 January 2020 - 10:47 PM

Hi All,
I'm new to Cloudy Nights and I have a bunch of questions about eyepieces. 

I have a Skywatcher Classic 150P (Newtonian w/Dobson mount), 153mm/1200mm (f/7.4).

The scope came with 10 & 25 mm eyepieces.  I asked Skywatcher support for more info. on the eyepieces and was told "the eyepieces are a modified Kellner design with a 52 degree field of view. The factory does put coatings on them, as to the specifics we are not able to release that information."

Assuming this is correct, I calculate:
10 mm: magnif. =   48, Field of view = 1.08 deg, Exit Pupil = 3.125 mm
25 mm: magnif. = 120, Field of view = 0.43 deg, Exit Pupil = 1.25

and I have a 2x Meade Barlow.

I'm over age 70, thus I guess my eyes dilate to 5 mm.  I live in Prescott, AZ with moderately light-polluted skies (can dimly see the Milky Way in summer.)

I've been considering a 32-40 mm wide-field eyepiece and a high-power EP, perhaps 6-8 mm.  Although I have a 2" adapter, I'd prefer to stick with 1.25" eyepieces (Barlow & filters).

I'm tempted by the Meade Instruments 607001 Series 4000 1.25-Inch Eyepiece and Filter Set, which Amazon sells for $160.  This includes eyepieces of 6mm, 8mm, 13mm, 17mm, 32mm plus Barlow and 7 filters in an aluminum case.  But I've read that the shorter Plössl eyepieces have very little eye relief.  Also, I cannot find details on these eyepieces -- apparently only the 32 mm is sold separately.  Celestron has a similar set with a similar eye relief problem.

Perhaps better choices are for the wide-angle:
GSO 1.25" Plossl Eyepiece - 32mm, magnif. = 37.5, FoV = 1.39  deg, Exit Pupil = 4 and 20mm relief