•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Trying to figure out how to upgrade my focuser.

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 pvarck31

pvarck31

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Cleveland Ohio

Posted 29 January 2020 - 02:59 AM

Hey everyone, I got a Sky-Watcher 8" Dob about a month ago and I wanna upgrade the focuser to a duel speed. 

I'm still new to all this so I'm trying to figure out what to do and what stuff means. I was looking at this https://agenaastro.c...pgrade-kit.html

But I don't know if that will work. I don't know if my focuser is GSO or not. I tried to figure this out and hit a road block. So if it's GSO I would like to buy that if that would work for me. If it's not GSO, then what do I need to get that will work with the scope? I want to make sure it will fit as well, as I really don't want to drill holes. 

Thanks.

Edited by pvarck31, 29 January 2020 - 03:17 AM.

#2 luxo II

luxo II

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Sydney, Australia

Posted 29 January 2020 - 03:47 AM

A photo clearly showing what you have would help  - unfortunately our telescopes can't reach right round to your place for a look...

#3 Jon Isaacs

Jon Isaacs

ISS

• Loc: San Diego and Boulevard, CA

Posted 29 January 2020 - 03:53 AM

Hi:

Does your scope have a Crayford focuser?  

There is a two speed upgrade kit for the skywatcher Crayfords but I don't know it is available in the US:

https://www.365astro...d-Focusers.html

Jon

• mrsjeff and pvarck31 like this

#4 pvarck31

pvarck31

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 January 2020 - 03:58 AM

Hope this helps.

Attached Thumbnails

• tele1.jpg

#5 pvarck31

pvarck31

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 January 2020 - 04:01 AM

Hi:

Does your scope have a Crayford focuser?