Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

RePosting SGP / iOptron CEM-60EC Meridian Flip Failure

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Dynan

Dynan

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,558
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2018
  • Loc: NOLA

Posted 14 February 2020 - 02:00 PM

I have another thread going on this enigma. I am posting again to possibly get new ideas as to the ongoing flip failure. I appreciate all the help in the other thread deeply...but it hasn't cured the problem. I am sitting at my pier with a bunch of daylight meridian targets ready to try anything before nightfall.

 

Here is the log from the latest failure (only the flip failure section) and a link here to the other thread (https://www.cloudyni...-flip-problems/):

 

Well...Flip Failed. No mention of "Same Side of Pier" this time.

 

[02/14/20 12:23:29.726][DEBUG][Sequence Thread][SQ;] Checking if Meridian Flip is needed
[02/14/20 12:23:29.726][DEBUG][Sequence Thread][SQ;] Telescope is on the West side of the mount
[02/14/20 12:23:29.729][DEBUG][Sequence Thread][SQ;] Meridian Flip needed, Hour Angle >= Degrees Past To Flip: 1.43056940606698 >= 1.25
[02/14/20 12:23:29.729][DEBUG][Sequence Thread][SQ;] Running blocking meridian flip...
[02/14/20 12:23:29.731][DEBUG][Main Thread][SQ;] Adding sequence level notification: Running automatic pier flip...
[02/14/20 12:23:29.735][DEBUG][Sequence Thread][SQ;] Sending Notification: Status - Running automatic pier flip...
[02/14/20 12:23:29.784][DEBUG][Main Thread][SQ;] Adding sequence level notification: Failed to complete automatic meridian flip, aborting sequence!
[02/14/20 12:23:29.791][DEBUG][Main Thread][SQ;] Failed to set sequence notification! Error creating window handle.
[02/14/20 12:23:29.791][DEBUG][Sequence Thread][SQ;] Sending Notification: Error - Failed to complete automatic meridian flip, aborting sequence!
[02/14/20 12:23:29.799][DEBUG][Main Thread][SQ;] MessageBoxHelper error in Show (mbargs)! : A generic error occurred in GDI+.
   at System.Drawing.Bitmap.GetHicon()
   at SequenceGenerator.MessageBoxHelper.c(d A_0)
[02/14/20 12:23:29.799][DEBUG][Sequence Thread][SQ;] Blocking Pier Flip: Failed to meridian flip, aborting sequence (False)
[02/14/20 12:23:29.799][DEBUG][Sequence Thread][SQ;] Aborting sequence: Failed to meridian flip
[02/14/20 12:23:29.799][DEBUG][Sequence Thread][SQ;] Set sequence abort
[02/14/20 12:23:29.915][DEBUG][Main Thread][SQ;] Adding sequence level notification: Failed to meridian flip, aborting sequence.
[02/14/20 12:23:29.921][DEBUG][Main Thread][SQ;] Failed to set sequence notification! Error creating window handle.
[02/14/20 12:23:29.921][DEBUG][Sequence Thread][SQ;] Sending Notification: Error - Failed to meridian flip, aborting sequence.
[02/14/20 12:23:29.921][DEBUG][Sequence Thread][SQ;] EventMarker(3) - t:NGC7156 1216 (13); e:0; f:9; o:* aborted *
[02/14/20 12:23:29.921][DEBUG][Sequence Thread][SQ;] EventMarker(10) - t:NGC7156 1216 (13); e:0; f:9; o:* aborted *
[02/14/20 12:23:29.921][DEBUG][Sequence Thread][SQ;] Set sequence abort
[02/14/20 12:23:30.103][DEBUG][Sequence Thread][SQ;] Run event requested sequence abort...

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

I'm at the pier now with a bunch of daylight meridian targets. So if ANYONE has ANY IDEA...I'm open to any suggestions at this point. I'll provide any info needed for diagnosis.

 

I had iOptron Commander (v. 5.74...latest download at iOptron) site set at 2° PAST meridian and SGP (up to date) set at 5 MINUTES past.



#2 ZL4PLM

ZL4PLM

    Vendor - ZWO Product Dev Team Member

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1,389
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2017
  • Loc: Darfield, New Zealand

Posted 14 February 2020 - 02:14 PM

You have got the hand controller meridian flip behaviour set to say 5 degrees past 

 

If you dont sgp and the hc fight for control during mf andvit would fail


  • Bill001 likes this

#3 johnsoda

johnsoda

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 1,250
  • Joined: 30 May 2014
  • Loc: SW Ohio, USA

Posted 14 February 2020 - 02:20 PM

Set SGP to flip at 0 and Commander at 5 degrees past meridian.
  • ZL4PLM, Dynan and OldManSky like this

#4 johnsoda

johnsoda

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 1,250
  • Joined: 30 May 2014
  • Loc: SW Ohio, USA

Posted 14 February 2020 - 02:22 PM

That way, SGP will initiate the flip. Commander/hand controller is just a fail-safe backup.
  • ZL4PLM and Dynan like this

#5 Dynan

Dynan

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,558
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2018
  • Loc: NOLA

Posted 14 February 2020 - 02:33 PM

As posted above, I had  iOptron Commander set at 2° Past and SGP at 5 minutes. It failed.

 

BUT...HOLD THE PHONE! I just had a successful flip!!! [HAPPY DANCE!!!]

 

Going to try and duplicate it.



#6 Astrola72

Astrola72

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: 16 Feb 2014
  • Loc: Maryland, USA

Posted 14 February 2020 - 02:59 PM

2o is 8 minutes. Try making the difference between Commander and SGP greater. ie Commander 10 minutes past and SGP zero degrees past (or 1 if you don't like zero).


  • ZL4PLM, Dynan and RossW like this

#7 Dynan

Dynan

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,558
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2018
  • Loc: NOLA

Posted 14 February 2020 - 03:17 PM

I'm getting intermittent flips. Can't tell if they're from SGP or iOptron Commander.

 

I am now going to run an attempt at 14:21 CST. SGP set to 0 minutes, iOptron Commander set to 1°.

 

I may be wasting this attempt, but it seems to me that if it has to wait for a 60 second exposure it messes up. I have checked "Wait for Meridian" this time. (I know it may be a mistake, but I've got to try something.)



#8 Dynan

Dynan

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,558
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2018
  • Loc: NOLA

Posted 14 February 2020 - 03:27 PM

I am now going to run an attempt at 14:21 CST. SGP set to 0 minutes, iOptron Commander set to 1°. Wait for Meridian.

 

That combination worked perfectly! I'm going to run some confirmation flips now. Stay tuned!! ...(if you'd like crazy.gif) Almost time for a Happy Dance!!!snoopy2.gif



#9 Dynan

Dynan

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,558
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2018
  • Loc: NOLA

Posted 14 February 2020 - 04:11 PM

It's HAPPY TIME!

 

Three consecutive flips.

 

Thanks to everyone for your great help through this enigma! Words can't express...well...I guess they can. But I've got to get set up for a few hours of a Moonless Night. Hope you'll understand.

 

Thanks for your time and expertise...CN rocks!


  • eros312, Astrola72 and ZL4PLM like this

#10 Astrola72

Astrola72

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: 16 Feb 2014
  • Loc: Maryland, USA

Posted 14 February 2020 - 06:11 PM

It's HAPPY TIME!

 

Three consecutive flips.

 

Thanks to everyone for your great help through this enigma! Words can't express...well...I guess they can. But I've got to get set up for a few hours of a Moonless Night. Hope you'll understand.

 

Thanks for your time and expertise...CN rocks!

 

waytogo.gif


  • ZL4PLM likes this

#11 OldManSky

OldManSky

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2,734
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2019
  • Loc: Valley Center, CA USA

Posted 14 February 2020 - 08:27 PM

Before you get too happy, set Commander to 5 degrees. At least.

The mount setting is only for emergencies, if SGP somehow fails. Make SGP’s flip value and Commander’s values further apart. Then it will always work.

And congrats!


  • Astrola72, ZL4PLM and RossW like this

#12 Dynan

Dynan

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,558
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2018
  • Loc: NOLA

Posted 15 February 2020 - 01:22 AM

Well...that didn't last long. The flip failed at 00:18 imaging Bodes Galaxy. The 'Wait on Meridian' happened on time, but no flip.

 

I'll check the log tomorrow and continue the hunt for the elusive flip.



#13 Dynan

Dynan

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,558
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2018
  • Loc: NOLA

Posted 15 February 2020 - 11:04 AM

From the latest log:

 

[02/15/20 09:43:37.178][DEBUG][Telescope Thread][SQ;MF;] ASCOM Telescope: Failed to flip because starting pier side and ending pier side are the same!

 

How can this still be happening? I have installed the latest Commander and ASCOM drive that is Compatibility Confirmed. (I'm downloading and installing it again as I type.

 

The last settings were:

 

SGP = 1 minute

 

iOPTRON =  2 degrees (8 minutes I believe. I can't go much farther than that before pier crash)

 

Wait On Merdian = ON

 

Going to try the newest download and set SGP=0, iOptron = 2, Wait = ON

 

Any ideas?  BOTH of my hairs are feeling threatened at this point. smile.gif



#14 Dynan

Dynan

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,558
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2018
  • Loc: NOLA

Posted 15 February 2020 - 11:19 AM

I can't blame it on the lack of the latest drivers:

 

iOptron Commander and ASCOM.jpg



#15 GrandadCast

GrandadCast

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 798
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Hill Country, Texas

Posted 15 February 2020 - 12:46 PM

"Going to try the newest download and set SGP=0, iOptron = 2, Wait = ON"

 

Looking at it at a different way. Lets say your mount is pointing towards Polaris, and you request the mount to slew to a target that is very close or possible on the meridian, is that target east or west of the meridian. It may only be a few seconds before the target is west, but lest say that when you entered in your request the target is just a little east still. Why would the mount go west if the target is still technically east. Setting SGP to zero may have the target still east. So why would the mount slew to west if your target is still east. Setting SGP to 4 would now put that target west and yes it should slew. There is a small different between the mount's idea where the target is and the computer thinks the target is. Translation is not perfect so the target location is not a 100% match. 

Jess


  • Dynan and RossW like this

#16 Dynan

Dynan

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,558
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2018
  • Loc: NOLA

Posted 15 February 2020 - 01:03 PM

I'm trying to run flips during the day again today. But for the life of me, I Can't remember how to get a sequence without getting shutdown by Plate Solve 2.

 

How do I run a sequence in the day? (Disable PS2 so the sequence will continue to the test meridian flip.)

 

TIA. I really appreciate the help.

 

EDIT: I got the daylight flips working again (not going to PS2). I have good and bad sequences...I'll compare and find out the difference I need to know.

 

EDIT EDIT: NO I didn't bypass the Plate Solve. The flip won't occur if that solve fails (a daytime problem, of course) .

 

Thanks again...again

 

EDIT EDIT EDIT: Fixed. See post #21 below:

https://www.cloudyni...lure/?p=9984855


Edited by Dynan, Yesterday, 08:34 AM.


#17 GrandadCast

GrandadCast

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 798
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Hill Country, Texas

Posted 15 February 2020 - 01:19 PM

I'm trying to run flips during the day again today. But for the life of me, I Can't remember how to get a sequence without getting shutdown by Plate Solve 2.

 

How do I run a sequence in the day? (Disable PS2 so the sequence will continue to the test meridian flip.)

 

TIA. I really appreciate the help.

 

You should make a profile for daytime. No plate solve, manual focus, no rotation, no guider and no centering target. When making a day light target don't select rotation. So when you slew to your daylight target you don't choice 'slew and center', just slew. 

Now you need to think about what I posted, if you slew your hoping you are still sync with the real sky, with plate solve you are. In the daytime are you sync enough that the mount thinks its west of meridian and SGPro thinks its west of meridian. This is likely why it works in the day time but not at night. You are having to be within a few seconds between the mount and computers idea of target location. 

Jess


  • Dynan likes this

#18 Dynan

Dynan

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,558
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2018
  • Loc: NOLA

Posted 15 February 2020 - 01:48 PM

From what I gather, you can't have a meridian flip without a plate solver working.

 

Is there any way around that?

 

SOLUTION:

 

For doing meridian flips during the day, in the Telescope Tab, CHECK the Use Auto Meridian Flip box, then click the [SET] button.

 

AUTO FLIP SCREEN 2.jpg

 

In the [SET] button dialog, UNCHECK the 'Auto Center After Meridian Flip'

 

AUTO FLIP SCREEN 1.jpg

 

The Centering requirement will now be bypassed.


Edited by Dynan, Yesterday, 09:21 AM.


#19 GrandadCast

GrandadCast

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 798
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Hill Country, Texas

Posted 15 February 2020 - 02:39 PM

From what I gather, you can't have a meridian flip without a plate solver working.

 

Is there any way around that?

 

EDIT: I only had a scope and mount selected. When I 'Set" auto flip in the scope tab, it necessitates a plate solve.

In your “Day Time Test” profile in ‘Equipment Profile Manager’, then in the ‘Telescope’ tab, under ‘Use Auto Meridian Flip’, make sure you uncheck the ‘Auto Center After Meridian Flip’. Anything dealing with ‘Center’ and ‘Rotation’ requires plate solve which you cannot do in the day time.

 

Also in the 'Other' tab, make sure to put 'No Rotator'. 

 

So; No Focuser,  yes on 'Use auto Meridian Flip', but no for 'auto center after meridian flip, no plate solve, no guider, and no rotator. 

 

When you create a target with Framing & Mosaic Wizard, after you frame it, and press 'Create Sequence', make sure to select 'SLEW to location' and uncheck 'Rotate or validate camera angle'.

 

Jess


Edited by GrandadCast, 15 February 2020 - 02:57 PM.

  • Dynan likes this

#20 Dynan

Dynan

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,558
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2018
  • Loc: NOLA

Posted 15 February 2020 - 03:05 PM

Thanks GDad. That finally made sense when I tried to figure ANYTHING with PS2. So I left explicit 'how to' in #18 above.

 

Thanks a million. It make sense now. Some may talk of how unforgiving SGP is, but when it's right, it's amazing. Gotta be diligent and pay attention to detail...



#21 Dynan

Dynan

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,558
  • Joined: 11 Mar 2018
  • Loc: NOLA

Posted 15 February 2020 - 03:55 PM

I just verified a difference in time between the iOptron (HC with a 3 star alignment) and SGP of at least 38 seconds. Certainly enough to get me in trouble determining where the mount is, leading to the "Flip is the same side of pier" error.

 

Multiple runs with 7 minutes in SGP, 2° in iOptron Commander, and "Wait for Meridian" checked, have now been successful.

 

It feels good when the mysteries (especially within AP) dissolve...


Edited by Dynan, 15 February 2020 - 03:55 PM.



CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics