•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Looking for an SCT Target

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 RatBiscuit225

RatBiscuit225

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 14 February 2020 - 02:26 PM

I've spent the better part of 5 years imaging at prime focus with a fast Newtonian, but tonight I'm taking my new 8" SCT out for first light!  Since I have no experience with deepsky imaging with such a setup, I'm looking for target recommendations for a SCT newbie, along with any general advice that I might not have thought of working with a Newtonian for so long.  Anything you can contribute to make my first clear night with the new scope will be much appreciated!  I know it's a little early in the year for galaxies, but I want to get my silly mistakes out of the way now so that when spring hits in full force I'm prepared for the pitfalls that surely await me.

#2 bignerdguy

bignerdguy

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Lewisville, TX

Posted 14 February 2020 - 03:01 PM

First thing i will suggest is if this is not an Advanced ComaFree scope you will need to get a field flattener/focal reducer for it.  SCT's have a lot of field curvature so trying to photograph with out one will leave you less than impressed.  Plus even a small SCT has a long focal length so is rather high powered without one as well.  However with even an 6" SCT you can image things like galaxies, nebula, and with a barlow even planets.  A good place to start that is an easy target is the orion nebula.  Its bright, easy to find and works well even visually.  Its where i started...

#3 BobE102330

BobE102330

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 14 February 2020 - 03:05 PM