•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Starry Night vs CPWI

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 taxman0720

taxman0720

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Texas

Posted 14 February 2020 - 04:21 PM

Hello everyone. I am still relatively new to astronomy.  I purchased a Nexstar 6SE and it came with Starry Night 8 SE (apparently not the full version).  It seems to work really well after the scope is aligned.  Just use your mouse, pick an object or star and it goes directly to it.  I just learned Celestron has a free program called CPWI.  I really want to commit and learn one software program.  Any opinions on which software is better? 

#2 Gregory2012

Gregory2012

Messenger

• Loc: Gig Harbor,WA.

Posted 14 February 2020 - 04:38 PM

Hi Tony,

I used CPWI. It works very well. Provides automatic alignments. What it does not provide is a good night sky chart. It is as basic as one can get frankly. So you will need a good planetarium to have a decent look at what's up tonight.

Auto alignment gives the beginner one benefit, you will see in what directions objects are located simply by looking at where the scope is pointing. After successful alignments and the beginning of learning your skies, you can then start picking out your guide stars or alignment stars. It's easier at start, to have things happen automatically, it frees you up from the extremely frustrating practice of putting your target in the center of your ep.

CPWI works great. And, also in my opinion. You will need to learn a lot more than one program. Invest in a good planetarium and try CPWI. You won't miss.

• taxman0720 likes this

#3 scopewizard

scopewizard

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Alberta, Canada

Posted 14 February 2020 - 05:08 PM