•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Alternatives to the ASIair...?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Jaimo!

Jaimo!

Soyuz

• Moderators
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Exit 135

Posted 16 February 2020 - 02:32 PM

Hello, 

I am relatively new to deep sky imaging and I started in November of 2019 with a ZWO ASI294MC / ASI120MM-mini / ASIair and things were working well and I felt I was making some real headway in my progress.  However, with the ASIair firmware "upgrade", in early January 2020, the ASIair has basically been rendered useless...  It frequently changes my longitude from W to E without warning and the guiding cannot be used.  I really like the form factor of the ASIair but I have spent the last 4 clear evenings, for a total of over 10 hours "trying" to image.  I know the new ASIair Pro is going to be available soon, but I am really hesitant sending ZWO another $300 when my current version is in such a mess.  I have been on the ASIair Facebook page where my issues seem common for many other users...   

I hope eventually ZWO fixes these issues, but while I wait on them I am loosing sky time.  I have considered Astroberry Server on a RP4, or would a Windows 10 Pro stick or mini PC be a better option?  The options I like most on the ASIair:  plate solving, polar alignment routine, small form factor/remote operation and the basic image acquisition; the options I like least:  guide scope,  no ability to review acquired images.

Help?

Jaimo! 

#2 wrnchhead

wrnchhead

Surveyor 1

• Loc: NE Kansas

Posted 16 February 2020 - 02:36 PM