•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Testing and setting up a new iOptron CEM60

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Ragnar1

Ragnar1

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 February 2020 - 02:37 PM

Hi All,

I have a new iOptron CEM60 and tri-pier on order and they may be arriving within a week. I plan to use it mainly for astrophotography. I am relatively new to astrophotography (been doing it for about 5 months using an iOptron skyguider pro; and have a very small amount of experience with guiding). I read the forum posts and internet articles on the CEM60, and would like to make sure I test the important aspects of the mount within the 30 day return window. I collected the following tips/tricks/testing procedures: 

Setup/tips:

1. Read manuals before receiving mount
  2. Order second counterweight to balance 8" SCT
  3. Practice using magnetic clutches/switches
  4. Put teflon tape under mount to ease azimuth adjusments
  5. Order computer control cable: Ioptron Equatorial Telescope Upgrade Control Console Cable Coding Line Ieq30pro RS232 to 4P4C RJ9 (6FT, for Ioptron) - this seems less bulky/complicated and Amazon reviews say it works with the CEM60
    1. Alternatively, could order the USB2.0 to Serial (9-pin) DB-9 RS-232 adapter cable (FTDI chipset) for computer control - may just order the iOptron one
  6. Possible sideways balance fix: https://www.cloudyni...fix-for-cem-60/

Regarding testing, my current thinking is:

Testing (indoor/daytime testing possible):

1. Listen for any grinding or stalling sounds when slewing, with different loads attached
  2. Check whether polar scope is coaxial with RA axis and fix if not (http://www.ioptron.c...e_Alignment.pdf)