•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Process my data (Iris Nebula)

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 TXLS99

TXLS99

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 February 2020 - 03:02 PM

Hello

I've been a long time visitor here and have gathered a wealth of information. Its been about a year since I started my journey into astrophotography. A few months ago I captured data from the Iris Nebula. Stacking was done with Deep Sky Stacker and processing with Pixinsight. I'm still learning pixinsight, and it took me 3 attempts to produce the image below. 

The Iris nebula is one of my favorite targets. I'm pretty satisfied with the image I produced with my limited experience, but I would enjoy seeing a more experienced person take a crack at it, and see what I have missed.

Equipment: William Optics Z 103 with .8 reducer on Advanced VX mount, Canon 6D unmodified, no guiding, 90sec exposures 3200iso  Bortle 4

Stacked TIF File(88 Lights, 30 Dark, 40 Bias, 40 Flat) https://1drv.ms/u/s!...fnwyth?e=LPkZVB

IRIS.jpg

Edited by TXLS99, 16 February 2020 - 03:26 PM.

• okiedrifter and RudiVM like this

#2 rgreenberg2000

rgreenberg2000

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: San Mateo County

Posted 16 February 2020 - 03:49 PM

Thanks for the practice file!  Here's my attempt at tweaking your .tif file in PI:

49544005463_19e8693f34_c.jpg

Keep shooting!  That's a really nice set of data on that target.

Rich

Edited by rgreenberg2000, 16 February 2020 - 03:49 PM.

• RudiVM likes this

#3 TXLS99

TXLS99

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 February 2020 - 03:54 PM

You are welcome Rich and Thank you!

Looks good, its such a challenge balancing the dust and core area of the nebula, but thats what I love about this target

Edited by TXLS99, 16 February 2020 - 03:56 PM.

#4 rgreenberg2000

rgreenberg2000

Explorer 1

• -----