•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

polar alignment when using an OAG

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 MakNewtMan

MakNewtMan

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 February 2020 - 12:58 AM

I'm new in the world OAG's.  Typically, when I polar align, I use my 240mm FL guide scope with teh asi 120 mini mono camera and it works perfectly.  I've decided to upgrade my guide camera to a QHY5iii 174 mini mono camera for my 1600mm focal length RC. How do i polar align now since I won't have a guidescope to use with Sharpcap?  do you i use the 174 and OAG combo to polar via sharpcap or is that not going to work?  What's the best practice here for getting polar aligned when using an OAG and not a guidescope with Sharpcap?  Thank you!

#2 Dynan

Dynan

Soyuz

• Loc: NOLA

Posted 17 February 2020 - 01:57 AM

As long as your main imaging camera is compatible with SharpCap, just connect and run Polar Align. Your OAG guide camera isn't used. SC PA is pretty self-explanatory.

#3 mxpwr

mxpwr

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Sweden

Posted 17 February 2020 - 03:09 AM

I doubt you will have any success doing polar alignment with Sharpcap using the 1600mm. I think the limit is somewhere around 400mm (what I use).
I also just upgraded to oag and pondering about the same question. My best idea so far was to have a quick release guide scope, just attached for the polar alignment and then remove before main session.

#4 Biggen

Biggen

Ranger 4

• Loc: PCB, FL

Posted 17 February 2020 - 08:46 AM

Sharpcap needs a FOV of 1 - 2.5 degrees to do the polar align plate solve. Using a OAG with a longer FL scope can cause a problem with this.

I use an OAG but my FL is only 360mm so my FOV is quite large.

#5 MakNewtMan

MakNewtMan

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 February 2020 - 08:53 AM