•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

How pleasant to find a microscope forum here!

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 Randy54

Randy54

Vostok 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ

Posted 17 February 2020 - 01:29 PM

I'm new at CN, coming here from the astronomy side of life. In my first astro thread, I happened to post a photomicrograph. This morning I was searching for User Ratings of transactions (to post a 5-star) and stumbled across this forum.

I don't have any questions or anything wise to say, but I wanted to extend my greetings to this surprise interest group and post this cross-over photo. Sodium Borate, Unitron trinocular polarizing scope with D300. It resembles M-42 in shape, a nice first post for CN / Microscopes.

Randy

DSC_7192.jpg

• stevie, Mike E., wrnchhead and 5 others like this

#2 Randy54

Randy54

Vostok 1

• topic starter

Posted 17 February 2020 - 01:31 PM

Magnesium Sulfate, same equipment.

DSC_7161 v2.jpg

• Starman27, Megawatt, wrnchhead and 2 others like this

#3 wrnchhead

wrnchhead

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: NE Kansas

Posted 17 February 2020 - 01:41 PM

Those are amazing. In a discussion about a month ago we talked about things you do when it’s too cloudy and cold and someone mentioned microscopes and I remembered that I had bought one. A five dollar goodwill one but an antique and I cleaned it up and have been using it lately. Well just a moment ago I completed a transaction in the classifieds for a restored older one with better capabilities and I cannot wait to try it out!

#4 Randy54

Randy54

Vostok 1

• topic starter

Posted 17 February 2020 - 01:52 PM

Great pair of hobbies! Exploring the infinitely large in one, the infinitely small in another. Eye candy is wonderful.

Unfortunately, I didn't log the chemical in this photo. I still have the slide and will figure it out someday.