Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

ZWO ASIAIR Pro - Guiding and Image Acquisition OSC Questions

astrophotography equipment CMOS
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,806
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ USA

Posted 19 February 2020 - 11:43 AM

I am migrating from a DSLR to OSC and have a ZWO ASI2600MC-Pro on order.  I am considering getting the ZWO ASIair Pro for power management, guiding and image acquisition.  I have been using PHD2 and before that PHD for over 15 years. 

 

How good is ZWO's guiding SW compared to PHD2?  Can the ZWO guiding app do dithering?  I am not sure about moving away from PHD2.



#2 PH1L1PP3

PH1L1PP3

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 16 Feb 2020
  • Loc: France

Posted 19 February 2020 - 11:55 AM

@Soyuz

 

ASIair Pro manage PHD2

Answers here: 

https://www.cloudyni...ir#entry9970244

 

Be aware about powering your ASI2600 with the ASIair Pro. It don't. It is stated in the ZWO description:

"Note:Must use an external 12V power supply to power ASI6200/ASI2600/ASI533 cameras"

 

Looks like last camera generation cannot be powered by the ASIair Pro frown.gif


Edited by PH1L1PP3, 19 February 2020 - 12:00 PM.

  • Jim Waters likes this

#3 vancoz

vancoz

    Lift Off

  • ****-
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 29 Sep 2019

Posted 19 February 2020 - 11:57 AM

As far as I can see ZWO ASIair has integrated PHD2 into it, however not all PHD2 features are included, but guiding quality is really close. 

And yes, ASIair does dithering.

 


Edited by vancoz, 19 February 2020 - 12:09 PM.


#4 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,806
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ USA

Posted 19 February 2020 - 12:02 PM

@Soyuz

 

ASIair Pro manage PHD2

Answers here: 

https://www.cloudyni...ir#entry9970244

 

Be aware about powering your ASI2600 with the ASIair Pro. It don't. It is stated in the ZWO description:

"Note:Must use an external 12V power supply to power ASI6200/ASI2600/ASI533 cameras"

 

Looks like last camera generation cannot be powered by the ASIair Pro frown.gif

Thanks for the info and link PH1L1PP3...!


  • bsavoie likes this

#5 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,806
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ USA

Posted 19 February 2020 - 01:59 PM

@Soyuz

 

ASIair Pro manage PHD2

Answers here: 

https://www.cloudyni...ir#entry9970244

 

Be aware about powering your ASI2600 with the ASIair Pro. It don't. It is stated in the ZWO description:

"Note:Must use an external 12V power supply to power ASI6200/ASI2600/ASI533 cameras"

 

Looks like last camera generation cannot be powered by the ASIair Pro frown.gif

That 12 volt warning must be for the AIRair and not the Pro.

 

"Supported ASI cameras
All ASI Mini series cameras, ASI120MC-S/MM-S, ASI385MC, ASI224MC, ASI178, ASI174, ASI290

ASI1600, ASI294, ASI183, ASI071, ASI533, ASI2600, ASI6200"



#6 PH1L1PP3

PH1L1PP3

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 16 Feb 2020
  • Loc: France

Posted 19 February 2020 - 02:47 PM

That 12 volt warning must be for the AIRair and not the Pro.

"Supported ASI cameras
All ASI Mini series cameras, ASI120MC-S/MM-S, ASI385MC, ASI224MC, ASI178, ASI174, ASI290
ASI1600, ASI294, ASI183, ASI071, ASI533, ASI2600, ASI6200"

Yes...supported...

But about power, go to ZWO website ASIAIR Pro, and go trought paragrah: 3.Integrated power management, more storage space
And read the "note"

Envoyé de mon SM-A500FU en utilisant Tapatalk

#7 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,806
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ USA

Posted 19 February 2020 - 03:09 PM

OK - thanks PH1L1PP3.



#8 AnakChan

AnakChan

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 934
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2014
  • Loc: Oz

Posted 19 February 2020 - 05:51 PM

That’s a bummer about power. I have the ASIAir Pro on order & already have my ASI6200MM. Wonder if it’s a h/w limitation or if a future software upgrade would address that limitation.

I don’t intend to use the ASIAir Pro to power anything else (my mount will get powered straight from portable source).

#9 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,806
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ USA

Posted 19 February 2020 - 06:29 PM

Likely a HW issue. The ASIair Pro may not be able to handle the power requirements.

This is likely a showstopper for me.

#10 Coconuts

Coconuts

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 489
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2012

Posted 19 February 2020 - 08:31 PM

See my response in a related thread:  https://www.cloudyni...hubs/?p=9993894

 

All the best,

 

Kevin



#11 AnakChan

AnakChan

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 934
  • Joined: 01 Sep 2014
  • Loc: Oz

Posted 19 February 2020 - 09:11 PM

Cheers Kevin. The ASIAir specs did say 3A per DC outlet to a max of 10A, and the ASI6200MM draws 3A max. Your graph does seem to indicate that the ASIAir Pro should be able to support the ASI6200MM.

 

Maybe ZWO is being conservative in case users are attaching other devices such as dew heaters, mount, etc. off the ASIAir Pro. Luckily for my use, it's only going to be the ASI6200MM.

 

Sean




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: astrophotography, equipment, CMOS



Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics