•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Svbony 102 doublet 5.5 refractor

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Astro gator toe Joe

Astro gator toe Joe

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Naples Fl

Posted 20 February 2020 - 08:31 AM

Hi again fellow sky watchers.
So I know there is a forum on this already but it hasn't quite answered my question yet. The 102 5.5 by svbony looks like a great deal.
My situation like most others is I am new to this and have a wife that doesn't like it when I talk about buying more equipment.
I just bought a 420 dollar brand spanking new Cannon T7i/800D. And she bought me a 300 dollar celestron goto alt az scope for x-mas. So you see my budget is tight and I absolutely need to get the best refractor for AP for around 200 bucks if I I'm ever gonna be able to get a equatorial tracking mount.
So I hope someone in here can tell me from personal experience if I will be able to get decent beginner photos out of that scope. It seems like a nock off of Williams optics. I think maybe a cat knockoff.
Any info would help.
Thankyou ahead of time and clear skys my friends.

#2 sg6

sg6

Cosmos

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 20 February 2020 - 09:58 AM

You need to supply a link to the item, and sort of quickly.

The only Svbony scope I can locate is half the specification you give - it is f/5.5 but 90mm aperture not 102mm.

It will not be a knowck off of the WO's, the image I see all they have done is have a similar white OTA and put gold colored fittings, might be a gold anodisation.

So it seems to be made to look like a WO in outward appearance.

Again from the reading it is an achro, and will show a reasonable degree of color on bright objects - stars for example.

I see they highlight the green AR coating.