•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Can I have sources on how a binoviewer works?

beginner accessories optics
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 vpro8725

vpro8725

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 February 2020 - 10:02 AM

Hello, I am a High School Student who just started Optics. I was assigned an assignment to do research on an optical device. I chose a binoviewer, because I thought that it would be interesting. I saw a few images and understood how it works. However, I need some good, reputable sources for my research. I have browsed through the pages of Google to no avail, so I'm here asking for help. Can you guys send me some links to reputable sources?

#2 Garyth64

Garyth64

Aurora

• Loc: SE Michigan

Posted 20 February 2020 - 10:21 AM

Welcome to CN.

Just google, "optical layout of binoculars"

#3 sg6

sg6

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 20 February 2020 - 10:25 AM

https://en.wikipedia...wiki/Binoviewer

Google search is useful.

Optics are simple - 50/50 beam splitter then basic prisms to deliver both halves to eyepieces with the same path length.

Looking at the diagram the 50/50 split is the first 45 degree one. Since glass is lesser reflection at 45 the a simple 50% must be coated to achieve the correct reflection/transmission. After that everything should be reflected so presume the 45 degrees angles on the end of each prism is silvered.

• faackanders2 likes this

#4 Justin Fuller

Justin Fuller

Viking 1

• Loc: Los Angeles, CA

Posted 20 February 2020 - 10:52 AM

https://www.rp-photo..._splitters.html beamsplitter info

https://www.rp-photo...com/prisms.html prism info

I would consider RP photonics a reputable source.