•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Returning to the Hobby: Argh

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Michael Wren

Michael Wren

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Illinois

Posted 20 February 2020 - 01:05 PM

Long time member trying to get back into Astronomy after a long break.

I've had my XT10i out a few nights in the past few months after it's been sitting in the corner for the past ten years.  I bought the scope back in college stored it at home with my parents and did a bit of observing when I came back home to visit, but eventually abandoned the hobby when I graduated and moved from Bortle 4 skies to Bortle 8 skies.

But now I'm trying again and facing frustration after frustration.  First night out I checked my primary collimation, pointed the Dob at the Moon, a nice easy target and had no end of trouble landing solid focus.  I kept skipping back and forth due to focuser slop.  So I started reading through the forums about how to tune up the focuser and I got it tightened up.  While there I read a lot of posts on collimation and felt a bit better about my rusty skills.  Even picked up a laser collimator and tired the barlowed laser method.