•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Should I replace my telephoto lens by a small refractor?

astrophotography dslr dso equipment refractor
  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 systm

systm

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 February 2020 - 03:16 PM

Hello all wavey.gif

I am considering to make a small upgrade to my kit by adding a small refractor within the 1.5 kg range for the OTA. I am still a noob in AP, but I would like to get an high(ish)-quality instrument.

I am currently using a Pentax dfa* 300mm lens on a Pentax K1. While I am very happy with it, the lens is pretty sharp (Pentax is Pentax) and that K1 sensor is wonderful, I wonder if I would benefit into using a refractor. This will be used on a Star Adventurer (guided), hence the weight limit.

Now: I am seriously considering a Takahashi FS-60CB due to it's modularity so that I could add more modules when I get a better mount, and the fact that it fits my requirements of weight and cost, which is around 1500€ for OTA + flatteners and all the panoply of accessories that usually come with Taks.

My main question is regarding the quality of this Refractor in comparison with the Pentax lens. I've seen several reviews, some praise it, some others do seam disappointed with it, but as a starter telescope (it will be my first one), will I be pleased? Or would I come back to the lens after realising that I do have more resolving power with it?

I'm attaching an image of M35 taken with the lens  (I've messed up on polar alignment but managed to salvage a few frames) - will the Tak provide a better resolution? I am also not a fan, not at all, of the diffraction spikes produced by the lens, as it creates unnecessary noise on the image.

https://imgur.com/a/gBuRn3r