•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Lunt dedicated (THa) or modular (MT)?

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 statfreak

statfreak

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Las Vegas, NV

Posted 21 February 2020 - 04:24 AM

Hi everyone. This is my first post. I've have been reading the solar threads for a while now and am looking to purchase either a Lunt LS80 or LS100. Lunt seems to have two different model lines, the LS80THA or LS100THA dedicated PT H-Alpha scopes and their modular LS80MT and LS100MT line.

I'm still learning about the pros and cons of the various configurations but haven't been able to find much on the differences between these two lines. It seems to me that there must be some price to pay when solar viewing using a modular design over a dedicated scope and am hoping folks here can help me understand what I'd be losing to have the ability to use the scope at night. A 100mm refractor can be had for much less than the cost of one of these scopes so my initial inclination is to buy the THA.

I'd be observing only to begin with but don't want to rule out imaging in the future. I'd like to use a binoviewer. I'm leaning towards getting the LS100THA SS with the B1800, buying the DS later -- since I have a few years before the sun gets hopping again -- and building the CP fix to suppress the glow if necessary; I don't see a 100mm HRF on the Lunt site. Cost might ultimately lead me to the LS80 but that's another conversation. I do like looking at details more than the full disk. I live in the desert SW, so lots of dry, sunny days.

Thanks

David

P.S. Thoughts on a compatible binoviewer that won't break the bank? Is the Tecnosky Horizon sold on the Lunt site decent?

#2 dhkaiser

dhkaiser

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 21 February 2020 - 08:00 AM