•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

PHD2 on Mac - Win or Native?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 HeliAv8r

HeliAv8r

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Temecula, CA

Posted 21 February 2020 - 05:06 PM

I'm just starting out and trying to keep the costs low for now so no new laptop at this point.  Besides, I'm still not sure what I want in the long run (ASIAir Pro, StellarMate, or PC).

I have an older MacBook Pro (Mid 2009) running OS X El Capitan.  I'm going to start with this for now.

I have Parrallels 14, running Windows 10 64-bit because APT does not have a Mac version.

My question is if I should install PHD2 in the same Win 10 instance and run both apps from there or would it be better (if even possible) to run PHD2 natively on the Mac while still running APT via Parrallels?

I'm pretty sure that native PHD2 (in MacOS) would generally be better and if I didn't need APT for image capture from my Nikon DSLR; that is to say if I ran only Mac apps, then I would have my answer.  I know I could "buy" AstroDSLR but I'd like to stick with APT.

Since I'm already running Parrallels and that instance is consuming most of the system resources, maybe it's better to have both in Win10.

Thoughts?

Thanks,

Dave

#2 D_talley

D_talley

Soyuz

• Loc: Albuquerque, New Mexico

Posted 21 February 2020 - 11:08 PM

I have an older Mac Pro at one telescope. It is running Windows 10 with bootcamp. Bypass Mac OS completely.  Since you have Windows 10 already that is what I would do and not worry about the systems resources being consumed by Parallels. So far everything is running well.  

#3 Lead_Weight

Lead_Weight

Apollo

• Loc: Houston

Posted 22 February 2020 - 01:55 PM