•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

A tracking allround telescope

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 MacAver

MacAver

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 February 2020 - 01:52 AM

Hi there! Total noob when it comes to stargazing.

I have spent 2 weeks telescope gazing with help of Google. I'm lost.

My basic thought was a 130-150 mm aperture with motor so I could piggyback a small DSLR (Nikon 3200) on it while the kids could look at the planets and some deep space attractions. Budget is 200-300 Euro (220-325 USD) so not a super telescope this time.

Listing some telescopes I found with the drawbacks.

• Celestron Astromaster 130EQ EQ3 130/650 -180 EUR - (Spherical mirror & motor version not sold in Sweden and needs to be added.)
  • Sky-Watcher Explorer-130M EQ2 130/900 - 285 EUR - (Correction lens, EQ2 moun.t)
  • Bresser Pollux EQ3 150/1400 - 251 EUR - (Carbon fiber tube, corrector lens & no motor.)
  • Meade Polaris 130 EQ2 130/650 - 212 EUR - (Spherical mirror, EQ2 mount. thick spider & no motor.)
  • Sky-Watcher Heritage 114P 114/500 - 230 EUR - (Correction lens?, spherical mirror? no piggyback mount* & need a good table or a sturdy camera tripod.)

I have no idea how these drawbacks will effect me or my family members as users (spherical mirror, correction lens and carbon tube) in reality. What will I suffer less from as user? I'm in desperate need of help to sort these things out. I'm aware that I need to replace/add some stuff from get go like better eye pieces and barlows etc. I do not really care if exchangeable stuff is lesser good. It is mostly the things I will be stuck with that bothers me.