Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

How do you upgrade the Audiostar firmware of the lx65?

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 daslolo

daslolo

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: 18 Jan 2020
  • Loc: Camano Island, WA

Posted 22 February 2020 - 09:45 PM

the audiostar that comes with the lx65 is version a4s2, the hand controller sticker in the back reads 35-4700-20es

I downloaded ASU 6.1 and bought this ftdi cable

the cable is recognized by windows 10 as com3, the hand controller sits on my desk connected via the small port, not powered by the mount.

i press [upgrade autostar software now], after a few seconds I get this error message

Annotation 2020-02-22 181344.png

in the past when programming chips like the es32 or the kendryte, it's happened when the software wasn't setup to listen to the com port

how do I tell asu 6.1 to listen to that port?


  • Okcman likes this

#2 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,112
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 22 February 2020 - 09:51 PM

Gday daslolo

The Handbox needs to be powered on before you can update it.

The linked rs232 cable looks good, but it doesnt supply any power, it is only comms level data.

You need to power the Hbx via the mount or a dummy power supply via the 8pin connector

or she wont play.

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia


  • ShaulaB likes this

#3 daslolo

daslolo

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: 18 Jan 2020
  • Loc: Camano Island, WA

Posted 22 February 2020 - 11:02 PM

oh ok thanks, I just plugged the hand controller to the mount and now it's recognized :)

 

Here come the bugs: check WWW for latest version returns a "could not retrieve information, check internet connection" which is odd because I'm typing this message on this very laptop.

Is the database on their website broken, I can see the one IT guy in the whole company taking a vacation after the bankruptcy. Maybe I need to download the firmware but this page https://www.meade.co...mware/firmware/ shows latest update in 2013, so, where are the firmwares?



#4 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,112
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 22 February 2020 - 11:19 PM

Gday daslolo

 

Is the database on their website broken,

No idea. I can reach it currently and it shows A4S4 as the latest firmware for the Spanish Audiostar

 

I can see the one IT guy in the whole company

I think that is one more than they have :-)

 

so, where are the firmwares

They have them hidden away somewhere

Just start the updater but without your scope attached.

Hit the "Update Autostar Software now" button

It will say "Cannot find autostar etc etc blah blah"

Hit OK and you get a dialog box

In the top selection box, select "Audiostar-Spanish"

Now hit "Check WWW for latest version"

You should see "Download version A4S4 from the WWW" appear.

If so hit the upper right "OK" button and it will download to your PC

ready to be loaded.

That said, i suggest you look at using the freeware 3rd party StarPatch app to do the loading

as it is more robust than Meades ASU, and also includes a lot of patches and enhancements

to get around a lot of the known bugs.

Your choice

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia


  • daslolo likes this

#5 daslolo

daslolo

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: 18 Jan 2020
  • Loc: Camano Island, WA

Posted 22 February 2020 - 11:55 PM

Thank you so much Andrew. They should SO hire you!!

 

Is there a patch to the mount that makes it compatible to Celestron hand controllers? I like their electronic better.

 

starpatch.png


Edited by daslolo, 22 February 2020 - 11:55 PM.


#6 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,112
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 22 February 2020 - 11:56 PM

Gday daslolo

 

Is there a patch to the mount that makes it compatible to Celestron hand controllers?

Nope

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia



#7 daslolo

daslolo

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: 18 Jan 2020
  • Loc: Camano Island, WA

Posted 23 February 2020 - 12:21 AM

Oh you are johansena@ in the .spf file!

Pretty awesome. Did you decompile the official patch to add this granular control?

I see some assembly and loads of hex code, like good old Amiga warez. Is this a patch on the official rom?



#8 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,112
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 23 February 2020 - 12:43 AM

Gday daslolo

 

Oh you are johansena@ in the .spf file!

waytogo.gif

 

Did you decompile the official patch to add this granular control?

There is no "official" patch.

As per your PM, Richard Seymour and myself ( he was first, i am the evil apprentice ), have slowly over the years developed ways to quickly disassemble the released roms and then patch them at the machine code level to add bits and fix problems where we can.

StarPatch was written by a different person as he has integrated his own GPS units into the firmware.

We work with him and others as reqd to integrate stuff more deeply if possible

and he graciously made his loader available for free for installing his GPS patch and our "general" patches.

It is now much more interactive, user friendly and robust than the Meade updater.

Win win.

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia

 

PS as you have an Audiostar, you also cant use Meades ASU to load tours etc or modify your user data

as it corrupts the data. You will need to use my PEC editor if you want to do that.

Also, check what version of LX65 you have as the initial versions have the AUX ports wired back to front

and if you plug any std Meade/3rd party devices into yr Aux port, you may fry your mount or the device

Above all Have fun grin.gif



#9 daslolo

daslolo

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: 18 Jan 2020
  • Loc: Camano Island, WA

Posted 23 February 2020 - 02:22 AM

So i am now running a custom 3rd party firmware  - This is SO very cool!

 

Why choose to do that on Meade over Celestron?



#10 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,112
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 23 February 2020 - 02:38 AM

Gday daslolo

 

Why choose to do that on Meade over Celestron?

Cos i own Meade scopes, not Celestrons :-)

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia


  • NVDW likes this

#11 carolinaskies

carolinaskies

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,911
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2014
  • Loc: Greenville SC

Posted 23 February 2020 - 04:52 PM

Andrew's the man when it comes to these things!  :)



#12 daslolo

daslolo

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: 18 Jan 2020
  • Loc: Camano Island, WA

Posted 23 February 2020 - 06:51 PM

Also, check what version of LX65 you have as the initial versions have the AUX ports wired back to front

and if you plug any std Meade/3rd party devices into yr Aux port, you may fry your mount or the device

Above all Have fun grin.gif

How do I check the version?



#13 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,112
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 23 February 2020 - 07:54 PM

Gday daslolo

 

According to Meade, new units have a white dot painted in their battery compartment.

This is described in detail on the StarGPS site.

Other than that, the safest way to test is to use a multimeter ( on an unpowered mount )

using continuity mode, and see where the earth pins are.

Just search this site for several threads on this, incl pictures of how the mount is wired

and how it should be wired.

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics