•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Polar alignment near tropics

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 swap_saraf

swap_saraf

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 23 February 2020 - 01:22 AM

Dear astrophotographers,
I am a beginner, living near 18 north 73 east tropical belt. I recently upgraded to a skywatcher eq6r mount from a skytracker. I have hard time getting a good polar alignnent on phd2.
I use PHD2 polar drift align after rough polar alignment. The PA error gets around 40-50 arc mins when I point on a star near Polaris. If I get slightly away, I see a big difference. Question: Why do I have to be so close to polaris? I get couple of stars in FOV. The phd2 polar align circle ('lollipop') shows up just few times and then goes out of screen. Question: What could I be doing wrong, not to get the phd2 circle inside screen?
Question: Since sharpcap need more number of stars, do you guys think Polemaster can help me with PA?

Can Fellow phd2 PA experienced folks please help.

Edited by swap_saraf, 23 February 2020 - 01:28 AM.

#2 Chuckwagon

Chuckwagon

Viking 1

• Loc: Orem, Utah, USA

Posted 23 February 2020 - 03:07 AM

If you can see Polaris, and you have a scope/camera combo that results in a field of view in the range of around 2 degrees down to about 1/2 degree, then Sharpcap should be able to work for you.  (I've succeeded with it using fields of view as large and as small as that.)  You may need to use longer exposures to see more stars so it will work, but it does seem to work.  You can also input you location info so it can account for refraction.

The Polemaster should also work for you, and can correct for refraction as well.