•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

collimation: reflection concentricity lost when aligning the secondary to the primary

collimation reflector beginner
  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 pez_espada

pez_espada

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: 41° 23' N 2° 10' E

Posted 24 February 2020 - 09:30 AM

Dear all,

I am just a beginner coming from Refractorland. I have bought a small 130PDS (5.1" F5 Newtonian) for wide field variable star work and as a RFT (with a coma corrector). The little Newtonian serves also as my introduction to Reflectorlland and the art of collimation (that I am eager to learn well). Well I have read some guides on the topic (i.e. Don Pensak's, "Astro-Baby's", Gary Seronik's, etc) and am trying to master the technique using a sight tube/ Cheshire and collimation cap only. I am not attracted by lasers but getting interested in autocollimator tools such as the Catseyes and Fairpoint.

I follow the receipt of firstly center the secondary under the focuser by making the circles produced by the the bottom of the focuser, the secondary and the primary reflection within the secondary all concentric as seen through the peephole of the collimation cap attached to the focuser. I can achieve this (more or less) by playing with both the center bolt of the secondary and the three small collimation screws. I rotate by reaching the support of the secondary, then I adjust  the central bolt and collimation screws until I get as concentric circles as I can. I tight all screws and central bolt.

Then I try to get the secondary aligned with the primary by making the cross-hair of the sight tube to coincide with the primary's  small donut, by only playing with the three collimation screws of the secondary