•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Calibrating PHD2 with a SkyGuider Pro mount

astrophotography
  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 matthefed

matthefed

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 24 February 2020 - 09:54 AM

Hi - I am a newbie on this forum, but have long-appreciated the information and advice it provides. I just started putting together my first rig for DSO astrophotography and I'm hoping someone can help with an autoguiding problem.

I have been trying (without success) to use PHD2 software and the ZWO ASI290 mini camera to autoguide my polar-aligned SkyGuider Pro. I have been able to get all the way to the calibration step, successfully connecting the equipment and auto-selecting a star to track, and have made the following changes in the PHD2 settings:

Global menu -> Dither --> check the in RA only box.
Aligorithms menu -> Declination -> Dec guide mode: Change to “off”

After about 2 minutes of attempting to calibrate, PHD2 returns an error message that there was not sufficient RA star movement, and does not complete the calibration process. In the meantime, the LED (for 1X speed) on the SkyGuider Pro blinks as if it is receiving data from the computer.

Any suggestions for how I can successfully complete the calibration process? Thanks.

Matthefed

#2 rlillard

rlillard

Sputnik

• Loc: Tucson, AZ USA

Posted 28 February 2020 - 10:19 PM

I'm not going to pretend to know the source of your problem(s) and I don't mean to be overly pedantic.   Here is a short list of things you didn't mention in the off chance that they have been overlooked.

Is the clutch tight ?

Do the slew buttons visibly move the RA axis ?

How good is your balance ?  ... both RA and DEC.

est.

Is the guide cable connected between the camera and the mount ?

What does your star profile look like ?