•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Dust and speck of paper inside a new triplet

• Please log in to reply
104 replies to this topic

#1 Palmito

Palmito

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Lausanne, Switzerland

Posted 25 February 2020 - 02:06 AM

Hi everybody,

I recently purchased a new refractor. And I noticed that on the rear of the lens (inside the refractor) there is dust and what seems to be small pieces of paper.

The seller tells me he believes I have never used a telescope before and that my expectations are too high. That it is perfectly normal to be dust inside and outside of a brand new OTA.

I am expecting it to be pristine.

What do you guys think?

Cheers

Attached Thumbnails

• 20200224_085324_cmp.jpg

• doctordub, Mauikj and retroman2 like this

#2 sg6

sg6

Cosmos

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 25 February 2020 - 03:17 AM

Should be "pristine" if new. Say "if new" as the post reads that you may have purchased used from someone and it is "new" to you.

Lens like these are assembled in clean rooms. Personel hooded and in a coat with air filtered. Basically at assembly nothing in the room to cause a possible problem.

Since the lens cell is almost completely sealed then usually difficult for anything to get in at all. Fine dust maybe due to warming and cooling effect of expansion and movement ofair in and out. But someting of any size it should be almost totally impossible.

So guess someone has hauled the lens cell out and maybe tried to adjust things that require freeing up the lens - thinking thoughts along "I can check/change/better the collimation if I play with this".