•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Vixen German Equatorial Mounts

• Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 ariesram

ariesram

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 25 February 2020 - 11:03 AM

Hello there,

as a newbie, I am not clear what the generations of Vixen GEM are. There seems to be many of them made by Vixen, Super Polaris, Great Polaris, GPDX, etc. 

Does anyone have a diagram showing all of these generations? I am looking for a manual GEM, used or new. 

Thanks

• 25585 likes this

#2 msl615

msl615

Viking 1

• Loc: Fairbanks, Alaska

Posted 25 February 2020 - 11:38 AM

In ones that you hear about the most (there are older ones, but rare):

Polaris (easily converts from GEM to Alt-Az). I use them all the time.

Super Polaris (mostly GEM, but can be put into Alt-az mode). I use these, too

Super Polaris DX (SPDX). Massive compared to the above. Hard to find. Superb. I have one.  Mounted outside on a pier most of winter. 

Great Polaris (mostly an updated SP, with mount saddle). The versions above did not have dovetail saddles. I sold mine...same essentially as SP.

GP2. Minor changes from GP. Sold mine. Not different enough from GP and SP.

GPDX. Heavier than GP and GP2. Workhorse for me. Outside on a tripod right now. 

GPD2 modification of GPDX. Inside house at the moment. Has not been relubed for ultra-cold, yet. 

All of the above are their totally manual GEMs, though each can have motors, tracking, etc added to them.

From my signature below, you can see that I have modified  these in Alaska with my extreme cold conditions (it is -25F today) and I will be out tonight with these mounts in very stable, and dark skies. Looking forward to coming home after work to get out there. 

Mike

• zjc26138, R Botero, eros312 and 4 others like this

#3 ariesram

ariesram

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter