Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

New Sky-Watcher EQ6-R (Pro)

mount tripod
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 NoDarkSkies

NoDarkSkies

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2020
  • Loc: Denver Metro Colorado

Posted 26 February 2020 - 08:17 PM

So far all seems really good with this Mount, I updated the Controller Firmware and maybe check on the Motor Firmware later on.
Connection to the Computer was simple enough and was able to connect to most of my Software.
One Software I wanted to make sure would work was Starry Night Pro v8.

Next would be to connect the GPS Unit, but for now I am finding another use for my iPhone setting the Coordinates.

The USB Port is really nice to have even though I did buy their USB to Serial Cable but have no place to even plug it in.
It is very quiet more so that I have to put my ear close to the Mount to hear it.

Now to find a nice a Case for the Mount or make one and maybe a soft case for the Tripod.
My William Optics Zenithstar 103 APO will be here tomorrow but do not have a date for the Explore Scientific 127mm f/7.5 Essential Apochromatic FCD100 ED Triplet Refractor so I have lots of time but only until the end of March.

I am still waiting for the rest of the parts or add-on to come it, seems that shipping is Really Slow ATM

More to Follow and I still have Lots and Lots to learn, nice to have clear skies tonight so off I go.


Edited by NoDarkSkies, 26 February 2020 - 08:24 PM.

  • ShaulaB likes this

#2 Gray

Gray

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 849
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Middle TN

Posted 26 February 2020 - 08:20 PM

It's a shame the skywatcher mount case seems to be only sold in the AU.



#3 NoDarkSkies

NoDarkSkies

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2020
  • Loc: Denver Metro Colorado

Posted 26 February 2020 - 08:34 PM

It's a shame the skywatcher mount case seems to be only sold in the AU.

Indeed https://skywatcherau...um-mount-cases/



#4 Barkingsteve

Barkingsteve

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: 13 Aug 2018
  • Loc: Essex, U.K.

Posted 26 February 2020 - 08:37 PM

if you still have the original packing you could use something like this:

 

https://www.amazon.c...d/dp/B0017GVRV2



#5 NoDarkSkies

NoDarkSkies

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2020
  • Loc: Denver Metro Colorado

Posted 26 February 2020 - 08:47 PM

if you still have the original packing you could use something like this:

 

https://www.amazon.c...d/dp/B0017GVRV2

Thanks looking at this now.
Need more of a Hard Case for how I will be traveling with it.


Edited by NoDarkSkies, 26 February 2020 - 10:30 PM.


#6 NoDarkSkies

NoDarkSkies

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2020
  • Loc: Denver Metro Colorado

Posted 26 February 2020 - 10:28 PM

This is the case I ordered tonight from Amazon

Pelican 1660 Case With Foam (Black) $333 Prime Including Tax.

Interior Dimensions (inches): 28.20" x 19.66" x 17.63"

Interior Volume: 5.66 ft³ (0.16 m³) Exterior (L x W x D):31.59" x 22.99" x 19.48"


Edited by NoDarkSkies, 26 February 2020 - 10:33 PM.


#7 skyward_eyes

skyward_eyes

    Vendor - Sky-Watcher USA

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 5,098
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2006

Posted 26 February 2020 - 11:30 PM

The Pelican cases are the best way to go. We do not like the mount cases for this mount as we do not feel it’s up to the task. The Pelican, SKB and similar cases are a much better option.

#8 NoDarkSkies

NoDarkSkies

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2020
  • Loc: Denver Metro Colorado

Posted 27 February 2020 - 06:37 PM

The Pelican cases are the best way to go. We do not like the mount cases for this mount as we do not feel it’s up to the task. The Pelican, SKB and similar cases are a much better option.

It would be great if Sky-Watcher had a Template to create custom foam but I think for a while the little squares will have to do.



#9 NoDarkSkies

NoDarkSkies

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2020
  • Loc: Denver Metro Colorado

Posted 28 February 2020 - 01:06 AM

I did at lest setup tonight and get the Guide Camera up and running.

Using MaxIm DL 6 Guide Camera 30 Images @ 10 Seconds each and stacked.

Guide Scope Slide-base UniGuide 50mm with the ZWO ASI290MM Mini Monochrome Astronomy Camera

 

49598472176_f04c4930b9_o.jpg

 

49598486386_cb72b1474b_o.jpg


Edited by NoDarkSkies, 28 February 2020 - 10:51 PM.

  • Phil Cowell likes this

#10 NoDarkSkies

NoDarkSkies

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2020
  • Loc: Denver Metro Colorado

Posted 28 February 2020 - 08:30 PM

I got my new EQ6-R Pro the one with the USB Port on the Head and on the Hand Controller.
I connect the SynScan GPS Module to the Hand Controller and it finds satellites and my correct location but not the correct Time Zone location.
I Have Day Light Saving set to No and the Offset set to 7 hours for Colorado.
While looking at the Moon with my eyes last night I set the Mount to go the the moon and it said it was below the horizon.
As long as I do not use the GPS Settings the Mount works great.
Is there and update or firmware to correct this or should I use the Mount using only UTC time?
Thanks



#11 NoDarkSkies

NoDarkSkies

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 180
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2020
  • Loc: Denver Metro Colorado

Posted 01 March 2020 - 12:05 PM

Images of the New Mount Head showing the USB Port. Not sure when they were added as most On Line Stores Do Not shown the USB Port on their Images of this Mount. I was told that the Pro was not part of the name for this Mount but as you can see they do have it on the Mount Panel as shown in the below image.

I did get the Skywatcher Telescope Control Cable FTDI USB to RJ45 Serial Converter Cable EQ6-R AZEQ6 AZEQ5 Cable as well but they are not used on the EQ6-R Pro Mount or Hand Controller at least that I could find.

49605065587_8784c52ffb_o.jpg

49605065667_49d6403619_o.jpg


Edited by NoDarkSkies, 01 March 2020 - 12:09 PM.



CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: mount, tripod



Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics